Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious!!! Pumped up the cocoa powder a little bit as I did not have any chocolate chips. Also used 2 c heavy cream and 2/3 c half and half per another review. Chilled the mixture overnight and froze it for about 8 hours after churning in the ice cream maker. Hubby and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Super! Used half and half instead of heavy cream; didn't seem to detract from the flavor at all. Chopped up Butterfingers instead of chocolate chips. This recipe will clearly stand on its own or support any additions (I'm going to add chopped brownies next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very good, rich and creamy. Followed the recipe exactly, next time I will probably leave out the chocolate chips, not sure they are essential to the taste. We really enjoyed this - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Smooth, chocolately, but not as dark-colored as store bought ice cream. Rough chopped a mix of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips in the chopper, then placed in refrigerator to chill. Added 2 Tbsp cocoa to the original cocoa-sugar blend, and a pinch of salt. Liquid was 1/2 whipping cream, and 1/2 half-and-half. Chilled the mixture for half hour, then churned for a total of 18 minutes. Added the chocolate in the last 3 minutes. Made 1 and 1/4 quarts, if you use the quart-size chinese take-out soup containers. It's chilling in the freezer again to harden. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was the best chocolate ice cream I have ever had! If I dropped this out of the cone I would cry so hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is the first ice cream I made in my new kitchen aid ice cream maker and it was fantastic!! Very rich and creamy! I would def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is the 5th ice cream recipe I made with my new ice cream maker. By far the very best ice cream. It truly is like velvet. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using chopped Kisses instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony
Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
It tastes like fudge pops. :) I throughly enjoy fudge pops, so that's wonderful, but if you don't...I used half and half instead of heavy cream, so that might have mad the difference. I find it delicious! :) *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
AMAZING. Best ice cream you will ever make. I've tried so many recipes and they've all failed in the taste or texture category. This was great. I had difficulty getting to firm, but I think that's because my machine has trouble with every recipe. I told everyone I know how I made delicious ice cream. I added two teaspoons of vanilla extract and I used a mix of chocolate, white chocolate and butterscotch chips for a total of 2/3 cup chips. So good. I'm eating right now as I review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wow! The best ice cream recipe I have ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States