Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Smooth, chocolately, but not as dark-colored as store bought ice cream. Rough chopped a mix of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips in the chopper, then placed in refrigerator to chill. Added 2 Tbsp cocoa to the original cocoa-sugar blend, and a pinch of salt. Liquid was 1/2 whipping cream, and 1/2 half-and-half. Chilled the mixture for half hour, then churned for a total of 18 minutes. Added the chocolate in the last 3 minutes. Made 1 and 1/4 quarts, if you use the quart-size chinese take-out soup containers. It's chilling in the freezer again to harden. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was the best chocolate ice cream I have ever had! If I dropped this out of the cone I would cry so hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is the first ice cream I made in my new kitchen aid ice cream maker and it was fantastic!! Very rich and creamy! I would def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is the 5th ice cream recipe I made with my new ice cream maker. By far the very best ice cream. It truly is like velvet. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using chopped Kisses instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony
Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
It tastes like fudge pops. :) I throughly enjoy fudge pops, so that's wonderful, but if you don't...I used half and half instead of heavy cream, so that might have mad the difference. I find it delicious! :) *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
AMAZING. Best ice cream you will ever make. I've tried so many recipes and they've all failed in the taste or texture category. This was great. I had difficulty getting to firm, but I think that's because my machine has trouble with every recipe. I told everyone I know how I made delicious ice cream. I added two teaspoons of vanilla extract and I used a mix of chocolate, white chocolate and butterscotch chips for a total of 2/3 cup chips. So good. I'm eating right now as I review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wow! The best ice cream recipe I have ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was the first ice cream I made with my Kitchenaid ice cream attachment, and it was AWESOME! Next time I'll add a little more cocoa. I recommend you use the best chocolate possible for the chips, I chopped up some Special Dark Hershey bars into chunks this time, and the quality of the ice cream's chocolate flavor really cried for a more high-end chip when tasted together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Swartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I'm not a big fan of uncooked eggs....so I warmed the sugar, cocoa, 1 2/3 cup f/f half and half until it was almost ready to boil...I beat the eggs until foamy and then added them a little at a time while whisking..I had no clumps and the eggs cooked...added vanilla, 1 tsp salt . let it cool in the fridge until cold...whipped 1 cup heavy cream with a sprinkle of cinnamon and folded it in...added both to my 4 cup capacity ice cream maker and voila...awesome ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!! This is by far my favorite homemade ice cream recipe! I did overflow so I would cut back the heavy cream just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States