Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
WOW!! How can you not say great things about this recipe?! I wone first prize at a "churn off" at the hospital I work at during our annual employee picnic. I veered from the recipe a bit based on other feedback. I, too, used egg beaters. I also combined it all the ingredients in the blender to mix them. I used Baker's semi-sweet chocolate and grated 1 square using a microplane grater...made the chocolate very fine and incorporated it wonderfully! I then added the grated chocolate to the other ingredients. The end result was just like chocolate velvet....smooth & creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
REEAAALLY good. I added more chocolate to make it richer. Great recipe and very easy, THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Incredible! I doubled the recipe. For the cream, I used mostly heavy cream and about 1/3 half & half. It is still plenty rich and creamy! I also added extra cocoa (probably 2-3 Tablespoons more) and skipped the chocolate chips. For those who like lots of chocolate, I will serve with chopped gourmet chocolate on top of the ice cream. I just got it out of my ice cream maker and it hasn't gone into the freezer yet to harden, but I had to have some. It is so good! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blestmom4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
DEEElicious! I often will use straight evap milk-altho cream yields a creamier result and always sub in egg beaters for the yolks (I have little kids). I dump all ingredients into my blender (so I don't have to use a hand mixer, it incorporates the cocoa better and turns the chocolate to tasty tidbits)--give it a mightly whirl and pour into my ice cream machine for divine results!YUM! Thanks for an awesome recipe! Don't be afraid to jack up the cocoa amount if you are a chocoholic. =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
i chose this recipe because i always have cocoa powder. the first time i made it i didn't print out the recipe and ended up using the wrong measurements! i used a half cup of cocoa and a cup of sugar and i didn't add the chocolate chips and it was GREAT! the second time i used dark chocolate cocoa and added the chocolate chips and it was totally different (but i should have realized everytime i substitute dark chocolate i end up with a totally different texture in whatever i'm making). then i made it again using my first screw up with the 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 c. cocoa and it was good again. the altered version has made it into my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very creamy and chocolatey!! I used a combination of evaporated milk and heavy cream. I also added brownie bits and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Very good. I doubled the recipe and used 4 cups whipping cream and 1 1/3 cup 1% milk. Substituted a dark chocolate bar for the chips. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Just a good basic chocolate ice cream. I added chopped bittersweet chocolate. Good standard recipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I really hate adding raw egg yolks but this was fabulous. Tastes like chocolate mousse. I will definitely make again. Would be fabulous with bits of brownie in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I used my ice cream maker for the first time and was greatly impressed with this recipe. The texture, flavor, and consistency was perfect. The only change I made was to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States