Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This really is velvety and delicious--an excellent no cook custard-style ice cream. Be sure to beat your egg yolks for 1-2 minutes, until they are light and fluffy, before continuing with the recipe, which will help ensure the very best consistency of the ice cream. Knowing that using all heavy cream can result in a greasy mouth feel, I substituted half and half for 2/3 c. of the cream, tho' milk could just as easily have been used. To intensify the flavor I increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup, added 1 tsp. vanilla, and a pinch of salt. For the chocolate, I added small chunks of a good quality semi-sweet chocolate bar during the last minute or two of churning. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
in a word: mmmmm. my daughter works at baskin robbins and agreed it was heavenly. per a friend's recommendation, i added 1/4 c. more cocoa powder. she was spot on abt that. what she did NOT tell me, however, is to be prepared to have cocoa flying all over your kitchen once you take the mixer to the cocoa part of the recipe. NOT a fun job to clean up, but the end result tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Excellent. Haven't had ice cream in a long time due to lactose intolerance. Luckily I don't have any problem with heavy cream. This ice cream is great. Smooth and velvety. If you use your ice cream maker, it will churn for a long time due to the high fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Fantastic! Smooth, rich, every bite was so tasty! You might think about regular cream instead of heavy cream - healthier and yields ice cream that is lighter in consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Yummy! We have tried several chocolate recipes with our ice cream maker, including the two in the instruction manual, all of them have been nasty, gritty, eggy or lumpy. This one is awesome. The taste was good and the texture good. I love not having to cook the mixture. Very Impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was good. I would prefer a little more chocolate, but it is still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
There goes the diet! It's 7am and I am making this for tonight, I can't stop sticking my spoon in the ice cream maker. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This ice cream is amazing!! I used 1/2 & 1/2 and it turned out great. It reminds me of Cold Stone ice cream. I'm sure it would be a great base ice cream to add other toppings into and experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I really enjoyed this ice cream. It was a great base for building your own ice cream creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
YUMMY! I made the recipe exactly to its description (changing the measurements via the conversion tool for 12 servings) and I have to say that is the best ice cream I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States