Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
perfect texture. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cayanne, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1 tbls vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would! It was fantastic! I made it for our 4th of July gathering. Everyone LOVED it! We'll make it again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Used this in my Cuisinart 1 1/2 qt electric ice cream maker last night. We LOVED it! We ate some when it was done, and then put the rest in the freezer to firm it up. I made this just as the recipe said, but used Dutch processed cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2AARON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Awesome ice cream... one of the best I've seen freeze in the ice cream machine as well. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
What a great recipe. We've made this several times over the last few weeks. Mostly we use this as the base and then change up what we add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
The only reason I gave this four stars instead of five is because this is much more like chocolate mousse than ice cream. It is delicious and we added mini marshmallows and nuts. I also added more cocoa powder which I'm glad I did. O.k. I take back the four stars and gave it five because after leaving it overnight in the freezer, this was some of the best ice cream I've ever had! Soooooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
WOW! Chocolate! If you need a chocolate fix, this is it. Very yummy. I used half-n-half and it came out very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is the best chocolate ice cream recipe I have found. We use Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder and chips to make it extra yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Uh-oh... I could see how this could become addicting. It is absolutely wonderful and so easy to make. I chose to increase the cocoa as other reviewers had suggested and also added a splash of vanilla. I used 2/3 cup half and half and the rest heavy cream. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. I finely grated some of the chocolate and some I left as slightly larger chunks, the size of mini morsels. Decadent! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Fantastic!! As suggested, put in 1/2 cup of cocoa instead of 1/3. Also, added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar and 3 tbsp of Kahlua. (Alcohol is said to help the ice cream keep better in the freezer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States