Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
GREAT recipe!! I've made this several times and have noticed that unless you scrape the bowl many times during the mixing process, the choclate doesnt mix all that well. And you HAVE to add the cream painfully slow as you mix, stop and scrape, mix and add cream, stop and scrape. It seems like it takes forever (because the ice cream is so good it's painful to wait for!), but its worth it because you wont have a glop of chocolate at the bottom of the bowl when you pour the mix in the ice cream maker. And when I process the chocolate chips, I leave them kinda chunky becuase its fun biting into the chocolate when you eat the ice cream! I'm pretty sure that this recipe would be AWESOME with extra stuff like oreos, toffee bits, mini marshmallows, maraschino cherries, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Amazing! It was so creamy and light. I have a kind of cheap ice cream maker and the ice cream always seems to come out with ice crystals in it. With this recipe it was incredible. Extremely rich and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Excellent, excellent, excellent. So silky and smooth and even with all that cream, no greasy mouthfeel. It hardens nicely and doesn't get icy. My biggest complaint about store bought ice cream is that it is often too sweet. That is not the case with this recipe. The chocolate level is perfect is you use good quality cocoa. The only change I made was to add a pinch of salt, which is the secret to perfect chocolate ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
The best ice cream I have ever made! The velvet texture is amazing. The whole family enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This ice cream so rich in flavor that I didn't want as large portion as I normally do. It's a good recipe for chocolate snobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Delicious, smooth, light chocolaty flavor ... I subbed in 1 cup half & half (fat free) for 1 cup of the cream. Used a fine sieve to strain the mixture as I poured it into the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2eat5
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is delicious. I used 2 cups of half and half and 1 cup of milk, and used egg beaters. It was really velvety, and sooo chocolatty. It is really hard to find a recipe that dosn't give you that filmy feeling in your mouth, and this one dosn't. Next time I will put in toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
substituted egg-beaters & half-and-half and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is the first time making my own ice cream and i think it taste great.... i followed everything to the T... good recipe for a first timer... reminds me of milo... will definitely work towards making it creamier ... i did this with an ice cream maker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is super ice cream and I would leave 5 stars, but it doesn't make very much ice cream at all. There is no way this recipe serves 8...maybe 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States