Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
this is so creamy, omitted the chocolate chips and it went down smooth as silk the best! I hope there is some left when hubby gets home..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I loved the airy, marshmallowy texture of this quick ice cream. I felt better about using a pasteurized egg product, as another reviewer suggested, rather than use raw eggs. It wasn't quite chocolaty enough for me! I will add more cocoa next time. My husband loved it as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Delicious! I used 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and 2/3 cup of half & half, but only because that was what I had. I also used almost 1/2 cup of cocoa powder and still thought it could handle more. I made mine more rocky road, adding mini marshmallows and chopped almonds. I will definitely make this again - so velvety smooth and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Put in 1/3 Plus 1 Tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon SUPER DUPER double-strength brewed expresso, cooled completely, and 1/2 cup or so crushed almonds, and guess what you get? The best Jamoca Almond Fudge Ice Cream you'll ever eat! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim of Alexandria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I increased the cocoa powder (Nestle) to 1/2 cup and skipped the raw egg. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinArabesque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Soooooo rich and creamy!! I used 2 cps heavy cream & 2/3 cp half/half. I increased the cocoa powder to a 1/2 cp for a more intense chocolate flavor. Also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 Tb of Kahlua. I finely-grated Ghiradelli Dark Chocolate Bar into icecream mixture in the last 5 minutes of churning. If eaten like softserve it tastes like chocolate mousse with a more subtle chocolate flavor. When frozen more firmly the next day all the rich flavors of cocoa, cinnamon, and Kahlua blend together for an unbelievably smooth and creamy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My roommates and boyfriend LOVED this! I thought it was pretty good as well. :) I made one small change that I think made a difference. I had leftover dark chocolate from Italy (I don't eat choc straight up very often), so I grated that and mixed it in, instead of using semi-sweet chips as suggested. I also think this makes more than one quart as my 1.5 quart maker was quite full at the end of the freezing process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I couldn't make myself use the full amount of cream. I used 1 cup of cream and made up for the rest with skim milk. The soft serve came out so heavenly. Not too sweet with strong cocoa flavor. When I let this ripen in the freezer, it froze solid. Next time I'll add some coffee liquer so it won't be so hard. Still tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Made this in my Cuisineart this week. Very easy, but will leave out the extra chopped chocolate as I think it detracted from the finished product and kept it from being smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
One of the best chocolate ice creams I have ever had! It tastes very similar to Parlour brand ice cream, but without all the chemicals! I omitted the grated chocolate and added a few teaspoons more cocoa instead - it was heavenly without it and I thought I'd save a few calories, but I ended up pouring chocolate fudge all over it later anyway LOL. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States