Chocolate Turtles (The Candy) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by hilliardgirl101
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
We couldn't get the Carmel to melt so we threw out the butter and water and Added about 10 more carmels. We also cooked it like the choclate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
First of all the caramel candies don’t need to be mixed with anything, just heated a little on the microwave so you can form 1 inch balls. Second you do not mix the pecans and caramel; you need to arrange 5 pieces of pecans in a circle to imitate the legs and head of the turtle (that is why they are called turtles) I do this on a baking pan over waxed paper. After forming the ball you push them in the center of the pecans so you can imitate the shell of the turtle. After you have all your turtles arranged in the baking pan you need to refrigerate them for at least 10 minutes, in the meantime melt the chocolate. Immediately after taking them out of the refrigerator coat the caramel with the melted chocolate. I always drizzle them with pecan pieces and white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was the second year I made these for Christmas. I still have the issue of not having the bottoms covered in chocolate. I think this makes them difficult to handle and eat with the gooey caramel on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cthecow
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Thanks so much for this outstanding recipe. I read the reviews and made a couple of small changes. I broke the pecan halves in half again, and then toasted for about 10 minutes (watch carefully-ovens vary). I used an 11-oz. bag of caramels. I stuck my toasted pecans in the fridge while I melted the caramels (next time I will cut caramels in half to cut down on melting time). After stirring the pecans into the caramel I used 2 small spoons to drop mixture onto parchment paper; the paper plus the smaller, cooled pecan pieces seemed to stop the mixture from spreading too much. Then I put the pan in the fridge while I melted milk chocolate chips. I used a decorating bag and tip to apply the chocolate over the top of each so I had more control and I like how that looks (I posted a photo). I had some leftover chocolate, but that's okay; I can use it for something else. Wow! These are dangerously good! The caramel is just right even if stored in the fridge. They're going on my holiday plates, and I'm sure I'll be making these again. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elysia
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
So good!! The only thing I did different is that my caramels seemed smaller so I used one small bag of them. I also laid the pecans on wax paper first, drizzled the caramel and then the chocolate. Even so- the taste was so much better than store bought!! Not too hard, not too soft. Amazing blend of flavor!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very, very addicting! I decided to use heavy cream in place of the water because I assumed it would make the caramel a touch more rich and creamy. Hold off on melting the chocolate-I did it while the caramel was hardening, which I used parchment for not foil. I used two pecan halves per candy and instead of drizzling the chocolate, I rolled the hardened pecan-caramel mix in the chocolate so it would be well-coated all around. I used semi-sweet chips but I think I would prefer milk chocolate. Will absolutely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this exactly as directed.The pecans should be on the bottom in little clusters or arranged, then the melted caramel added. Also, the chocolate doesn't need to be melted until the caramel is set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colrain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wilsonville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made these for a family Christmas party and they were a big hit. I followed the recipe exactly, easy to make and delicious. I used semisweet chocolate chips and substituted parchment paper (buttered)for the aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I just made these and they turned out great! I used parchment paper and put them in the freezer before I dipped them in chocolate. I always use parafin wax when I melt chocolate for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I make this once and everyone said they were as good as store once Now I found out a Grandson through Marriage just love then,so for his birthday I'm makeing him so Adeline
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States