Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I've had this recipe in my cook book for over 20 years....and it calls for 2 EIGHT ounce packages of cream cheese, not 2 THREE ounce packages. Mine is not runny. Not messy. Can't imagine it would ever turn out with only 6 ounces of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Zerbe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
followed recipe to a T almost... runny runny runny. The flavor of the cheesecake mixture wasn't bad but it turned into a runny mess. Maybe I followed the recipe wrong with my change- it called for 2- 3oz pkgs of cream cheese. Never in my life have I seen a 3 oz package of cream cheese. I used 2 8oz packages, the normal size packages. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!!! I gave some to the kids and none of them hardly touched it and went without dessert instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani Lynn Gannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe sounded so good I made it the night before Thanksgiving. Big mistake, I should have tested it before. I followed the recipe exactly, but the cheesecake part of it was so soupy I could not cut it. I thought about chopping it all up and serving it as just pudding, but it was so sickenly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The first couple of times I made this I followed the directions exactly and put the pudding layer on the still warm caramel layer. I figured it might be the heat that was making the top section runny. I made two adjustments that has solved the watery pie problem. In preparing the chocolate mixture I blend everything but the sour cream. I fold in the sour cream after the rest is blended. Afterwards what I did was put the pie crust with just the caramel layer in the fridge on it's own, and put the cream cheese chocolate pudding layer in the fridge in a separate container to set. Once they had ample time to cool and set I put them together. It works well and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Awesome recipe! I was making it for company and made the mistake of making it the day before. It got really watery and I was a bit embarrassed to bring it out but the taste totally made up for it! Definately will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I definitely made this sporadically from a cooking card one day so I could impress my boyfriend... yeah, let me tell you... we were anxious before it was completely solid!!! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I got this EXACT recipe in the mail, and I was searching this site to find a better one when I came across this. Thought I should leave a warning for future users... The bottom layer is great (if not a little hard), but the top layer is runny. It melted despite being in the fridge. I think it needs more cream cheese. We had to freeze it just for it to stick together. NOT recommended. Find another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Most amazing no bake I have ever made! Not to mention turtles are my favorites! Everyone I made it for loves it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This recipe looked really good but it was not the best. There was too much cream cheese and like the others said the carmel ran and looked awful. I think I will play with the recipe to make it better for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
It tasts great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States