Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I make a LOT of cheesecake and this was the best yet! My recommendations: Use more butter to keep the crust together, bake the crust for 10 minutes at 350 and then let cool before adding the remaining ingredients, reserve 1/3 of the caramels to melt for a topping, and I always add a tablespoon of flour to my cheesecakes to keep the cake dense and not gooey. Also, toast extra pecans to use as a topping with the caramel. This baking method works great and the crust won't crack: Bake at 450 for 10 minutes, turn oven down to 250 without opening the oven and bake for 30 minutes, then turn oven off (still without opening the oven) and leave cake in another 30 minutes. And be sure to make and add 50% more filling to make a higher cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Oh my goodness -- what a cheesecake!! I used an Oreo cookie crust (increased the butter to 6 TBL), baked it for 10 minutes at 350 and refrigerated it overnight before adding the caramel and pecans. As suggested by others, I brought the crust up about 1 inch on the sides of the springform pan and doubled the amount of cheesecake filling. I used a hot water bath (wrapped the pan in heavy-duty foil and placed it in an oven bag) and baked at 450 for 10 minutes, turned the oven down to 250 without opening the oven and baked for 30 minutes, then turned the oven off (still without opening the oven) and left the cake in another 60 minutes. The cheesecake was perfect--not a single crack! I refrigerated the cheesecake overnight, then made a ganache (1/4 cup heavy cream, brought just to a boil, stir in a couple of handfuls of chocolate chips until melted, cool slightly) which I poured over the top. I sprinkled chopped pecans over the ganache and drizzled caramel ice cream topping over that, then refrigerated until serving. VERY rich, but wonderfully decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is by far my favorite dessert - cheesecake, chocolate, and pecans!!! Easy to make, though it does take time. Well worth it! I read all of the reviews before attempting. I DID chill the crust, caramel, and pecan layers before adding the cheesecake mixture; cooked it for 45 minutes; then left it in the oven (after turning it off) for an hour. It made all the difference - it came out perfect!!! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
I am an avid cheesecake fanatic and have made boat-loads of cheesecakes in my day. I have to say, this is one of the best (I know everyone always includes that little cliche when writing a review) cheesecakes I've ever made. I just had 2 adjustments that I made to the recipe: 1) I used a whole package of oreo cookies crushed up and added to melted butter as the crust, and 2) definately use Kraft caramels and not some off brand such as Brach's caramels. I have made this twice since Christmas and can't make it fast or often enough for my family and friends. It truly is wonderful and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
Excellent. Be sure to shape the crust up the side of the pan in order for the caramel layer not to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Lots of potential. Ratio of carmel to cheesecake is not quite right. Double the cheesecake filling and save 1/3 of the carmel to dribble on top later if disired. My family liked it best without adding any chocolate and we like rich deserts. Added more butter to crust as some reviewers suggested and will not do it again. I did put the crust higher up on the pan to prevent the caramel from overcooking on the edge. I would recommend toasting the pecans. I had no problem cooking it according to the directs without a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
If you find a cheesecake that tastes better than this, let me know. I'll call Guiness! I noticed that, when reading other reviews, there were some comments about the amount of caramel. I think if you let the crumb, pecan and caramel layer cool for a half and hour in the refrigerator before adding the chocolate cheesecake batter, you will have much better results. Other than that, absolutely flawless! And, yes, adding a chocolate glaze will send to into orbit! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Kratz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
My sister-in-law brought this to a dinner party I was hosting. It was terrific. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Delicious! I brought this cheesecake into work and I got TONS of compliments. For the single guys out there, making this cheesecake is a sure way to impress. It's amazing how many people become your friend after tasting this cake. Definitely use a springform pan for best results. I used a nut chopper to crumble the Vanilla Wafers. EXCELLENT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Loved it!!!!!!!!!! Dont believe the reviews that are less than 5 stars. Lots of work, but what a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States