Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone in our house loved it. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was just "ok" for me. I prefer my cheesecake with a thicker cheesecake. This seemed more candy/crust than cheesecake. Other reviews had said to do 1 1/2 x the cheesecake filling - which I would try if I made this again. I did add more of the turtle topping portion as a garnish since alone, the baked part of the cheesecake didn't look that appealing. The appearance was fantastic when drizzled with chocolate, caramel and pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Cherry-Oldt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
this cake was too sweet for me (I rarely eat sweets), but it got raves reviews from co-workers & friends. I added a melted chocolate chip layer on top & drizzled some melted caramels, then sprinkled some pecans - very pretty! make sure there's lots of milk or strong black coffee around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i used a ready made pie crust to make the recipe even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
OMG! This got the best reviews of almost anything I've ever made. And that's saying something!! I was putting it out on a holiday buffet dessert table. And I'd forgotten to spray the cheesecake pan and it was totally stuck and not coming loose - no how, no way. So I just put the whole thing on the table with a gigantic spoon for serving. And it still won hands down over all the other tasty desserts available. This is one that will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
The results were delicious, but I think there was something missing, perhaps it was the crust. Instead of the caramel sauce in the recipe, I made my own caramel (no trans anything and no high fructose stuff) which has a richer flavor. I also toasted the pecans on a baking sheet before baking the crust. Other than that, I followed the suggestions of others by using 1.5x the filling (great height!), using more butter in the crust (great flavor and hold) and baking it with the staggered temperatures (no cracks). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerine Demure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was a good cheesecake but it needs some tweaking. I didn't like the consistency of the cheesecake, it was cake-like instead of creamy like cheesecake should be. If I make this again I would change the cheese portion to be creamier like a New York cheesecake and I would use chocolate cookie crumbs for the crust. Be sure to cool the caramel very well before you pour the cheesecake on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Fantastic and sooo yummy!! I used it for a girlfriend's birthday dessert and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am a beginner baker. I made a new york cheesecake a few days ago and it turned out great and I've been eyeing this recipe and wanted to try it. The prep time was about 45 min. I didn't wait to cool anything. I put it together and baked for 40 min, it was definately long enough. It looked like the layers were mooshed together when I took it out after cooling in the oven. In the morning I drizzled carmel and chocolate on top. Once cut its was absolutely delicious. It is very rich. You would definately get your chocolate fill on 1/16th of a piece. The family can't wait till the next get together when I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by R.J.
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Try this just once and you will love it. I make alot of cheesecakes for the family and this one takes the top for most requested. It may take a bit of time to make, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williston, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States