Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Made this several times over the past few years, for parties, holidays, birthdays, etc. Always a hit. It's very rich. I use Oreo premade crust. Then after pouring the caramel in the bottom, I coat it with mini chocolate chips and chopped pecans. I put another layer of chocolate chips and pecans on top during baking. Then, before serving or taking to wherever I am going, I put a caramel drizzle all over the top. Too easy and gives it a professional look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This cake did not turn out so well for me. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. The cake was so gooey that I could hardly cut it with a knife. The caramel hardened and fell off of the filling when you try to eat it with a fork. This sounded like a good recipe but, I think I needs a few minor changes. Add flour to the batter to make the cheesecake less gooey, use a different form of caramel, make the cake part thicker, and use more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this for someone's birthday at work and it came out EXCELLENT!!! I love cooking and making desserts but this was the BEST cheesecake I've ever made. I followed someone's suggestions and made it the following way: I used crushed oreos for the crust - chocolate cheesecake - this was a no brainer of a change. (baking the crust for 10min at 375 or so) I saved a little bit of the caramel stuff to decorate the top. I increased the ingreadients for the filling by 50% and cooked it for 60 minutes at 250 instead of 30 and then left it in the oven (with the oven off)for a half an hour or so after that. Oh yes... after pouring the caramel layer on the crust I put it in the freezer for 15 to 20 min so the filling wouldn't mix in with the caramel. Helpful note: I made sure I put the cheesecake on a cookie sheet while baking. Turned out to be a really good thing as the oil from the butter in the crust and the caramels seeps out the bottom of the cheesecake pan. The presentation of this was incredible it looked just like something you would pick up in a gourmet pastry shop! (Now how did that happen???) The presentation of this way incredible and the taste was even better. It is the best cheesecake I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RESONNANT
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
As if this wasn't already bad enough - I used my own favorite cheesecake recipe and then made (per someone's suggestion) Carmels (recipe from allrecipes) which took longer than anything else but OH the wonderful smell in the house! For the crust I couldn't find what I wanted and don't like oreos so I bought 2 Chocolate pre-made crusts. Turned out to be a little over 2 cups but I used KerryGold butter (divine) and it stuck together great! THEN, with leftover carmel sauce (makes a ton) I buttered a dish, sprinkled pecans and ghiradelli chopped chocolate and poured the rest of the carmel sauce over the top. When everything is said and done I'll cut cute little turtle shapes (I hope) and adorn the top of the cake. Side note: I buttered the bottom of the springform pan, THEN added parchment paper to cover and THEN buttered that in hopes that it's not a fiaso prying the cake from the pan. I have a feeling (since I used my own cake recipe) that it's going to be a bit messy as it's nearing the top of the pan and it's only been 10 minutes. lol I'm giving it a 5 because of how it smells and looks but I can't partake for another 3 weeks so in the freezer it will go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Tastes great! After it was done in the oven I turned the oven off and left it in for three hours before moving it into the fridge and the top didn't crack. It turned out great. I would highly suggest leaving it overnight. It tasted so much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Made this as my husband's birthday cake! Everyone raved about it. Without telling anyone the name of the cheesecake, my 5 year old nephew said it tasted just like Turtles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENEDRAGONFLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
delish!! sent it to the fire station with my husband to see if it was up to the firemen's high standards (they are quite the critics, and not afraid to tell you if something is mediocre!) it got rave reviews and they told me I can make it for them anytime. Made as directed but i swirled the caramel and chocolate on top of the cookie crust and topped it with chocolate turtle candies. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseApril

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I agree with some of the others: it's good, really but needs some changes. The caramel sauce was way too runny; the pan needed something or you would have the cake sticking to the bottom and hard to remove. The nuts got soggy beacause of the runny sauce and the cheese part tended to go down through the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This recipe tastes just like a Fannie Mae Turtle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I was sooo looking forward to this cheesecake, unfortunaltely I was a little disapointed. First of all, it was not amazing. The filling tasted good, but not out of the ordinary. The caramel was way too liquidy, and as per the recipe, it doesn't say to boil until thickened, it just says until well melted. It stuck to my pan so bad, I had to soak the pan overnight to get the caramel off!I wish it had said something about greasing the pan beforehand! Even the pecans went lumpy because of how liquid the caramel was. It is very time comsuming to make, and I don't think it was that much worth the effort. I love making cheesecake, and I was looking for one recipe that was a change from my usual new york style that I make, which is usually a great hit! Unfortunalely, this was not nearly a hit at the family gathering. Sorry, but I don't think I'll be making again :( thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States