Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I was disapointed with this recipe, I can't put my finger on where/what went wrong for me. The caramel just kinda melted into the cheesecake, I didn't get defined streaks/layers of caramel but you could tell where it was because those bites were tough and chewy. I was expecting more since this recipe has great reviews. Im not sure I'll give it a chance or just look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I found this recipe in the Philadelphia Cream Cheese cookbook years ago. I serve it every Christmas. People come to my Christmas party just to get a slice (and to take some home if possible). A few years ago I had gastric bypass and with a few adjustments, I can still enjoy with wonderful cheesecake but now as a sugar-free! You can't go wrong here. P.S. Yes the original recipe called for TOASTED pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Delicious! I used one & a half times the amount of filling called for, and there was enough to fill 2 store-bought graham cracker crusts (yes, I cheated on that part! haha). Other than that, the only thing I did differently was add about a tbsp. of flour to thicken the filling. Topped with whipped cream & more nuts...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMEasterling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great recipe, but maybe a little too rich. I'll definately be making this again, but maybe with a little less caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I tried this after reading all the great reviews.... Wow! Amazing. I won a dessert contest with it with rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I just had a slice of this cheesecake and I feel like I need a bag of Doritos now in my system. It's so rich and sweet that I don't see myself getting another slice, not even tomorrow. I even reduced the amount of caramels and it is just way too much. Super easy to make and very pretty to look at but sickenly sweet. I used a waterbath as I do with all my cheesecakes, flans, and custards. Seriously, I am searching the house for something salty to have ASAP. I'm going on a coma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Good cake! I followed the recipe and everyone thought it was really good. The only complaints were about how sweet it was. I would make this cake again only next time I would use a nut crust instead of the vanilla wafers. The caramel sauce worked perfectly. I was scared that it would be to watery or stick to the saucepan but it was successful. I would use less caramel sauce in the cake. Drizzling some on each slice when serving would look nice. The cheese part of the cheesecake was my favorite. It was really easy to make and it tasted great! I think it should be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyreneOxide
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This. Tasted. Amazing! It was a huge hit when I had my parents over for dinner; it was worth the huge mess it made and the little extra effort it takes. If I make it again, I think I will use oreo cookie crumbs for the crust, and it needs more butter than called for in the recipe. Also, I'm not sure how to remedy this, but the caramel stuck horribly to the pan, so badly that I was almost ready to throw the pan away! Definitely melt the individually wrapped caramels and evaporated milk for the filling; so rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by messy_jessie
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is supremely excellent! The chocolate cheesecake is silky and rich. The carmel is a perfect creamy consistency. All you could ask for in a turtle cheesecake:) The very minor changes I made after reading several reviews, were to add 2 extra tbsp of butter to the crust, and I used 2 10.5 oz. pkgs of Werther's Chewy Caramels mixed with 1/2 cup evaporated milk. Oh yeah...Make sure you push the crust up the side of your springform pan at least an inch so the caramel won't stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Amazing!!!! I followed the recommendations of the first three reviewers and it turned out perfect. It was a great girls night in treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States