Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Hey.. I thought this recipe was amazing! I added some cream cheese, and more butter to the crust. Too bad no one at home gave me the chance to cover it with fresh cream or some frosting! It was gone in 2 days! Bottom line... everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mtarfa, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Absolutely loved it!!! This was my first cheesecake, and it turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Lots of potential. Ratio of carmel to cheesecake is not quite right. Double the cheesecake filling and save 1/3 of the carmel to dribble on top later if disired. My family liked it best without adding any chocolate and we like rich deserts. Added more butter to crust as some reviewers suggested and will not do it again. I did put the crust higher up on the pan to prevent the caramel from overcooking on the edge. I would recommend toasting the pecans. I had no problem cooking it according to the directs without a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
My first attempted at making a cheesecake. Turned out good except when I added the cheesecake layer it caused the carmel and nuts to go all sides. Also, almost too much nuts but that's just my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Absolutely fantastic! My first cheesecake and it came out perfect. I took the advice of others and used 6Tbsp butter for crust, made 1.5 amount of filling mix, added 1 TBSP flour to filling, and just put the minichips directly into the filling unmelted. I also used oreos for the crust because vanilla wafers didn't seem to go with the turtle theme. I would also toast the pecans next time; they got a little chewy sandwiched between the caramel and the filling. I'll definitely be making again. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I made this for a group of friends and everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I was nervous about trying this recipe because this would be my first cheesecake. I've made the Jello boxed cheesecake and that just doesn't count as a real cheesecake, complete with springform pan and everything! It was really easy, in fact, too easy! I want to make another one because it was so delicious! I followed the suggested baking directions of ten minutes at 450, twenty to thirty minutes at 250 then an hour in the oven with it off. A couple of minutes after putting the cheesecake in the oven at 450, it smelled like it was burning. I wasn't sure what to do so I left it alone and turned it down at eight minutes after, not ten. After it was baked and cooled, I did not have any cracks and it did not taste or look burnt. I really don't know what was burning but it there had been a burning cake smell, not as if something else was burning in the oven. Anyway, everyone who had a piece declared it to be one of the best cheesecakes they've ever had. My husband doesn't care for nuts in a cake but he never once complained about the pecans in this cheesecake. I'm so glad I tried this recipe! Maybe I won't be so nervous about trying new recipes in the future. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kinder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This is the same recipe I recieved from a bed & breakfast. The only difference is that in that recipe it calls for 6 TBSP of butter instead of 2 (the 6 is a MUST). Also, to keep the caramel sauce on the edges from getting too crispy I would press the cookie crust 1 inch up the side (I baked mine for about 10 minutes on 350 to make it set more). Lastly I cooked mine at 350 for 40 minuted and there was not a crack and I didn't even have to do a water bath - Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This recipe was very good. Before making it, I read the other reviews and agree that the crust should be brought up higher on the sides then suggested. For next time, I would also melt choc chips in the batter instead of adding them whole like I did. It was still good, but seemed too chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is awesome! I altered the crust a bit and it was delicious! I used 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs, 1/4 cup sugar, and 6T melted butter. (baked for 8 minutes in a 350 degree oven before pouring on caramel and nuts.) I also used the hot water bath method for cooking the cheesecake. Once it was out of the oven I made a chocolate sauce by melting 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips with 1/4 cup heavy cream in a saucepan. I frosted the cake and cooled it in the refrigerator overnight. Everyone loved it!! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States