Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made for husband's birthday cake. Very easy recipe. We prefer less sweet taste and this had a dense, fudge texture like that of a rich, flourless cake. Using ingredients I had in house, I halved everything except the sweetener, using 4 oz. of unsweetened Baker's chocolate and 1/2 c pure maple syrup. Put the bowl and beaters in the freezer and add 2 TBS vanilla to 1 pt real heavy whipping cream. Bake in 5 x 9 loaf pan. Serve on fancy elongated serving plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSETTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I wanted so, so badly to like this. I followed a few suggestions from other reviewers, namely using an Oreo pie crust and using a combination of milk chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the semi-sweet bakers chocolate. Even with the milk chocolate chips, it just was not sweet enough and had a very "heavy" texture. I probably will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraKristin1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This tasted EXACTLY like a chocolate chip with the texture of a brownie. If you like dark chocolate, you'll probably love this, but I'm a milk chocolate fan and it was too much for me, even with whipped cream or ice cream. I'll probably end up giving it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
One review used an oreo crust so I did that too. I also used chocolate chips instead of squares, and baked for 30 mins. Rich and yummy. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is a VERY rich dessert, so break out the glasses of milk. I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and the pie did turn our more truffle like than brownie like. You don't need the full 35 minutes. Mine was done in 25. This is a more bitter dessert, so next time I'll either add a mix of milk chocolate and semi sweet or add a raspberry topping or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This pie was easier to make than I was expecting it to be. Great texture, very rich. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the squares. I don't get it that people say it isn't sweet enough...you're using SEMI-sweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
It Just doesn't seem to have enough sweetness to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was very simple to make. The first time I had it, it tasted more like brownies. Made some modifications and the 2nd time around was EXCELLENT: used 7 oz of semi-sweet choco + 7 oz of milk chocolate chips; used 3/4 cup of whipping cream; used 1/4 cup of light brown sugar. Also only baked for 25 min at 325°F and it baked more like a truffle than a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
i used an oreo cookie crust but otherwise did nothing different. you don't really need the whip cream. i am a huge chocolate fan and this has got to be the very best chocolate pie i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I have made this a few times and we love it. You don't need a large piece, a little goes along way. Topped with real whipped cream lightly sweetened. Can't ask for an easier dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States