Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is perfect for a dark chocolate lover like me. I love chocolate, but can easily pass on milk chocolate so this hit the spot for me. It is quick, easy & delicious. If you're looking for milk chocolate or sweet keep on looking. But if you savor the flavor of chocolate, dark chocolate, this a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made for husband's birthday cake. Very easy recipe. We prefer less sweet taste and this had a dense, fudge texture like that of a rich, flourless cake. Using ingredients I had in house, I halved everything except the sweetener, using 4 oz. of unsweetened Baker's chocolate and 1/2 c pure maple syrup. Put the bowl and beaters in the freezer and add 2 TBS vanilla to 1 pt real heavy whipping cream. Bake in 5 x 9 loaf pan. Serve on fancy elongated serving plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ephraim, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I wanted so, so badly to like this. I followed a few suggestions from other reviewers, namely using an Oreo pie crust and using a combination of milk chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the semi-sweet bakers chocolate. Even with the milk chocolate chips, it just was not sweet enough and had a very "heavy" texture. I probably will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraKristin1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This tasted EXACTLY like a chocolate chip with the texture of a brownie. If you like dark chocolate, you'll probably love this, but I'm a milk chocolate fan and it was too much for me, even with whipped cream or ice cream. I'll probably end up giving it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
One review used an oreo crust so I did that too. I also used chocolate chips instead of squares, and baked for 30 mins. Rich and yummy. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is a VERY rich dessert, so break out the glasses of milk. I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and the pie did turn our more truffle like than brownie like. You don't need the full 35 minutes. Mine was done in 25. This is a more bitter dessert, so next time I'll either add a mix of milk chocolate and semi sweet or add a raspberry topping or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This pie was easier to make than I was expecting it to be. Great texture, very rich. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the squares. I don't get it that people say it isn't sweet enough...you're using SEMI-sweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
It Just doesn't seem to have enough sweetness to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was very simple to make. The first time I had it, it tasted more like brownies. Made some modifications and the 2nd time around was EXCELLENT: used 7 oz of semi-sweet choco + 7 oz of milk chocolate chips; used 3/4 cup of whipping cream; used 1/4 cup of light brown sugar. Also only baked for 25 min at 325°F and it baked more like a truffle than a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
i used an oreo cookie crust but otherwise did nothing different. you don't really need the whip cream. i am a huge chocolate fan and this has got to be the very best chocolate pie i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States