Chocolate Truffle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I think these are the greatest, very quick and easy to make, they're especially a hit with all the ladies. I've been making these for over 2 years now and I still get raves over them. I sometimes add a teaspoon of instant coffee to the recipe and also substitute 1/2 cup of bittersweet chocolate chips in the first cup of chips in the recipe. To help make handling the dough easier, I keep my hands damp with cold water, rinsing occasionally, while I'm rolling the dough into balls, I also always use parchment paper when baking any cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
SO DECADENT! I just got done making these and they are so delicious! I noticed that others had trouble with the cookies spreading, so I froze the batter for a 2-3 hours first. I then used a small ice cream scoop to form the balls, any ice cream scoop with anti-freeze liquid in it should work. Make sure to use a good non-stick cookie sheet but do NOT grease it! And letting them sit for 5 minutes on the sheet to finish cooking before taking them off is a must, trying to take them off before them will only break them. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
WARNING: YOU MUST REALLY LOVE CHOCOLATE TO ENJOY THESE COOKIES!!! I made a batch to take to a meeting tonight. It's very important to thoroughly chill the dough, not just for easier handling. The first batch I baked tasted kind of floury, so I had to eat them myself ;). I think letting the dough rest helps absorb the flour and baking powder. I dropped by tablespoons and adjusted the baking time accordingly. I also sprinkled some cookies with sliced almonds and some with cocoanut...nice appearance. If you want cocoanut flavor, you'll need to mix some cocoanut into the dough. Sprinkling on top just gave a bare hint of cocoanut flavor. This is a very good recipe, and not difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
This a great recipe for RICH, chocolately cookies. Have a glass of milk nearby. As an added suggestion, I used a 2 Tbsp. cookie scooper to make larger balls of dough and I rolled them in powdered sugar before I baked them. Baking them for 10-12 minutes should bake them enough since they are larger than the 1-inch recipe recommended cookie size. I gave them out to friends and brought them into work....everyone raved and asked for the recipe. The larger cookies yield about 2 dozen+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Been making these for years, same recipe as the Taste of Home one only available to paid subscribers on this site. Anyway, mine come out different than the picture in the recipe - not so many "points" but that's b/c I roll them well. They are rounded little puffs with cracks in them. VERY important to not overcook these. Just until puffed with little cracks is perfect. I adore this recipe, make them every Christmas and keep cough in the freezer all the time so I can pop a few when I need a chocolate rush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe is great!!!! It has become a staple in my family for all get togethers. It is an easy recipe and tastes amazing. The cookies melt in your mouth. The only advice I have is not to over cook them. The 9-11 minute cooking time is a must. They are great rolled in chopped nuts, powdered sugar or colored sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Bruno, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Sept. 18, 2009: These are amazing little cookies! The perfect chocolatey indulgence that I was looking for. Really, nothing is too chocolate for me and I love dark chocolate, so these are perfect for me! I followed the recipe exactly (refrigerating for 1 hour) and they came out perfect. I highly recommend this recipe! ******UPDATE 7/30/10: This is officially my most favorite chocolate cookie EVER! This time I added 1 1/2 tsp. Watkins raspberry flavoring and they are to die for! Just heavenly. The dough is really sticky, so I use a cookie sccop to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
These are good and chocolaty, just what I wanted. After I got the batter ready it seemed very thin but I put it in the fridge and it firmed up wonderfully. I couldn't roll it into balls because it stuck to my fingers so I just dropped them by teaspoonsful. I frosted some of the cooled cookies with chocolate frosting and oh my, they are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
YUMMY! Best chocolate cookies I've ever made. This is for Chocolate Lovers! The only changes I made was that I only added 1/2 c. of chocolate chips into the dough and I baked them for 12 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aldie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I've made these cookies several times, and each time I have to bring along copies of the recipe. Almost everyone has said these are the most delicious cookies they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States