Chocolate Truffle Cookies with Sea Salt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, but I thought that they were a little too salty. I love the texture and the flavor of the chocolate, but next time, I'll decrease the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
So good! Will definitely be making these again soon! They didn't even last a day! I used spelt flour instead of regular flour so I added about 2 Tbsp more because the consistency of spelt flour is similar to whole wheat flour. I also had to bake them for about 11 minutes (my cookies were about 2 Tbsp). They were so soft and chewy! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These cookies are EXCELLENT! I followed the recipe exactly, baked for 7 minutes and gobbled them up!!! The sea salt is the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe is a total and utter failure. I made this at my family's annual cookie bake and it was a disaster. I followed each step perfectly and these "cookies" turned out like a dough-ie mess. Silly me, I obeyed the ingredient measurements, although I thought it was strange that there is only 1/4 cup of flour...Maybe it should've been 1 1/4 cup flour...the "cookies" were runny and gooey. What a waste of time and money. Boooooo. Negative 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made these last night to kick off my Christmas cookie baking. They were really easy and other than melting the chocolate and chilling the batter, they didn't take much time at all. I had a huge "Pound Plus" block of 54% Belgian dark chocolate from Trader Joe's, so I used 13 1-ounce squares (= 1 1/2 cups plus a little extra) of that instead of the 60% Godiva. For the other 1/3 cup chocolate, I just used semi-sweet chocolate chips (also from Trader Joe's - I'm a walking advertisement for them). I chilled the first batch for about 15 minutes before dropping by tablespoons onto a baking sheet. I baked them for 7 minutes, but they actually were over done at that time (I have a gas oven, so not sure if that makes a difference). The next batch I chilled for about 30 minutes and they dropped more easily onto the sheet, and baked them for 6 minutes and they were PERFECT. So soft and gooey inside! They were pretty flat but I guess that's how they're supposed be with so little flour in them? Didn't exactly look like the puffed-up cookies in Godiva's picture :) But amazing nonetheless. Sprinkled with sea salt AFTER so that the salt didn't melt, and it stayed on the cookies no problem. To-die-for good. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spirited Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made them for a fundraiser at work. They were a huge hit. Made them exactly as the recipe calls. I doubled the recipe and may have had them in the fridge for about 45 min before I scooped thm out and baked them. Turned out perfect! Thanks for an awesome recipe. Reminded me of a lava cake only in cookie form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
The taste of these cookies is absolutely decadent and the sea salt gives them that extra layer of flavor that is perfect. However, you do have to chill them at least 30 minutes. I read some of the other reviews and was apprehensive about overbaking them so I took them out right at 8 minutes. I knew they would continue to cook on the baking stone so I only let them sit about 3 minutes before removing. It is very difficult to remove these without ruining the look of them. They are very soft and somewhat fragile until completely cool. They are even better the next morning (stored in a covered container). My biggest issue is that they are a lot of work for just 2 dozen cookies that taste great, but don't look beautiful. If you want a decadent treat, go for it. If you need to bake cookies for something, go for something just as tasty, but less labor-intensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
The taste is great, but I've tried it 3 times, in different ways, and it is always too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My daughter found this recipe and insisted that we make these for her cookie exchange in class-tomorrow! Ingredients met the "safe" list. The recipe doubles well. I did add 1/8 to 1/4 cup more flour for the double batch. If I could have chilled the dough longer it probably would have been fine too without the extra flour. Thick brownie batter to soft fudge-like consistency. We did not have 60% Cacao chips, so I added a bit of dark baking cocoa to the dry ingredients. I baked the cookies on parchment, and let stand on pan to cool a bit-perfect! For topping, mixed coarse demerara cane sugar and coarse kosher salt 3:1. My daughter has hid them from her sister and wants to make them again with either mint chips or top with crushed candy canes. Fast versatile base. Great for chocolate lovers and soft cookie fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I was a little apprehensive to try these but they turned out perfect...they were a hit with my family. I think you have to not panic because they are gooey in the middle they are suppose to be that way..yummy!!!..don't over bake them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States