Chocolate Truffle Cookies with Sea Salt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are fantastic! I melted the chocolate in the microwave rather than a double boiler, which made the recipe super easy. I also added another 1/4 cup of flour and let cool in fridge about a half hour. Spooned easily onto parchment paper. I baked them a little longer than the recipe called for to ensure they were done, even though the recipe stresses to not over bake. I think this helped. They are a really rich cookie but so addicting! I really only recommend these for a chocoholic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe did not work. Even after tripling the flour and chilling the dough, the cookies flattened out completely within the first three minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is a great recipe. It's like a grown up version of the chocolate chip cookie. I've made these four times now to bring to social functions. Each time mine was one of the first empty plates. The key really is to not over bake. Using a nonstick sheet or a silpat is also a big help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNRoquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I was so sad that these didn't turn out. Even after chilling they spread out too much. They have a good taste, but didn't stay together. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
So good, would definitely make again! I was VERY nervous when the dough looked more like brownie batter! But after refrigerating for 15 minutes it was perfect for scooping dough. Mine were not as beautiful as the pictures, but still very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Easy and addictive! Good thing for me that it doesn't make that many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These are so rich and chocolatey! You REALLY have to like chocolate for these. They're amazing warm and gooey from the oven, and the sea salt sprinkled on top is absolute perfection (I am on a sea salt kick right now anyway...). Found that these were pretty much perfect at 350 degrees in a gas oven for 8 minutes, although the bottoms sometimes got stuck to the pan due to a chocolate chip that got stuck. No one can tell from looking at the top, though. Only negative here - SO VERY RICH one is almost too much, and these definitely won't travel well (was hoping to add to my Christmas cookie shipments to friends and family out of state).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Amazing. Followed recipe exactly, then after we finished those off, made with regular semi-sweet chips (a bit sweeter) since I did not have another bag of 60% chips. I am a chewy brownie girl and these definitely satisfy the craving for brownies and cookies! MUST use sea salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybakes
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These are phenomenal! Very rich and perfect for a true chocolate connaisseur like myself. Gooey in the middle, just like a truffle. I used hershey special dark chocolate chips instead b/c that is what I had in the house. I melted them in the microwave w/butter. Chilled dough for 15 min. and cooled completely before removing from tray, just like it says. Can't wait to share these w/others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
After reading other reviews I refrigerated the batter for about 30 minutes after add the chips/before scooping out onto the cookie sheets. At that point I didn't have a problem scooping out the dough nor did it spread too much while baking. I used less salt but found the salt really enhanced the flavor (and I am not normally fond of salt). My other change was to add ~ 1/4 toasted chopped hazelnuts to half the batter. We loved the cookies with or without the hazelnuts but my husband and I agreed the cookies were significantly better after they had completely cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States