Chocolate Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This was beautiful. Delicious kind of a "malt" flavor to the cake. Very special---made it for dessert when we had a Mexican meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this for a Cinco de Mayo food day at work. I really liked how it turned out and it was quite pretty. My only warning is to make sure this is refrigerated until the last possible moment before serving. If it is allowed to warm too much it gets a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I thought this cake tasted good, but there was A LOT of liquid. I didn't put it all in actually, and it was a pretty messy frustrating process. Thought the cake tasted good, although could have been a little sweeter for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A good twist on a yummy classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
i just got finsished making this , it came out scrumpious, soo moist, a little bit of liquid left over but hey ! thats kind of normal for this cake. GREAT JOB!! bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b_cookie88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this for company to go along with a Mexican themed dinner. It was very delicious! Company enjoyed it. I followed another suggestion in a review and used a straw to put holes in the cake. I didn't have a problem with the sauce being absorbed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
All I need say is....YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY!!!!! Don't let the cake cool before you poke holes & pour mixture over top and you won't have a problem with it not soaking in. Try using a straw to poke your holes and then blow the cake pieces out into a cup periodically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Made with real whip cream instead of cool whip and topped the entire cake with chocolate shavings and it came out perfect. Really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
OUTSTANDING. I have been making Tres Leches Cakes for many years (since my husband's Army days in SW Texas and New Mexico). This is a wonderful variation. For those having trouble with the liquid absorbing - make sure you are pouring the liquid over the cake within 10-15 minutes of taking out of the oven. Do not let it cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I found I also had some problems with the sauce not soaking in well, but in the end everyone really enjoyed it and found it to be super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States