Chocolate Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is a fabulous cake! Ever since I made it my family has been begging me to make it again. Love that. Very easy to make to which is always a plus. I couldn't find the Swiss chocolate cake so I ended up using Devil's Food. I realized when I was making it that my cake mix was 16 oz and not the 18.25 called for. I wasn't sure what would happen since it was a smaller box so I cut the chocolate milk down to 1 cup. It worked nicely. When I was making this my hubby and my boys were thinking it was going to be weird since you pour all the milks over the cake, but they all loved it. When I went to make the frosting I realized I only had 1 1/2 cups of cream so I had to cut the frosting in half :( Still really good. Hubby even went back for another piece later in the night, which isn't something he does with cake. Fantastic recipe! Thanks MrsFisher0729 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Delicious! I couldn't find a 18.25oz cake mix, so I used a 16oz mix, keeping the other ingredient amounts the same. The cake turned out perfect. Once I mixed all the milks together, it looked like it was way too much, but the cake managed to soak it all in. I ended up whipping the cream a bit too long and it was more of a mousse, but still tasty! I made this for a party and it disappeared in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
DELICIOUS! I love the reg. version of Tres Leches Cake, so I knew this would go over well, and it did! I shared some w/ my mom and dad and they loved it too. I also could not find swiss chocolate cake mix, so I used devil's food. To make my life a bit easier, for the icing, I just beat together 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and a box of chocolate instant pudding, until thick, and spread that over top...perfect. This is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
The "One Bowl Chocolate Cake III" on this website is the cake mix I use to make this recipe! Also, for those not in America, I found a substitute for half and half: If you have heavy whipping cream and milk, you can make half and half by combining four parts whole milk with one part heavy cream. If you only have light whipping cream, use three parts whole milk and one part light whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Everyone was "wow"-ed by this at our party. Used the recipe off the back of the Hershey's Cocoa can instead of a boxed cake mix. Left out the expresso powder, but did add 1T Kahlua to the milks. Instead of half-and-half, just used the whole can of evap milk. Cake texture and taste were GREAT. Frosting great too and super easy/quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I've made this for dinner parties three times and twice for my family. It's a delicious hit! Our friends and grandchildren beg for this divine cake (our daughters are always dieting, but they always have a piece anyway). The only change I made was using a stick of melted butter in place of the canola oil (we like our butter around here). Sorry, gotta go -- just getting another one of these cakes out of the oven for a party on Friday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
It was beyond delicious. I had made this for a food day in spanish class, and it was a hit. The consistancy was unique but just added to the experience. The bottom was really moist and the milk congregated down there, then the middle was cake texture, the top was that moist cakey texture, and the frosting tasted like chocolate mousse. YUM! Absolutley making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I gave this 3 stars because of the boxed cake mix, it really took away from the delicious taste of the leches. Next time I will make my own batter and give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I'm not much of a baker, but this was so easy and simple to make. That's a definite plus in my book. This made a super moist cake and loved the whipped cream topping. My family loved it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I tried this recipe for my Mom for mothers day because two of her favorite things are chocolate and tres leches, and it was a big hit. I added a little bit of extra espresso, and then some shaved dark chocolate on top to really add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States