Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I lost the recipe I had for this cream cheese frosting/filling and found it here. I guess it's not my secret anymore! I use the filling (always a double batch) with any kind of cake, and layer it with fruit, usually strawberries or raspberries. To prevent the cake from absorbing the juice and color from the berries, I spread a thin layer of the frosting on the bottom of the cake layer before I put it on top of the fruit, which already sits on a thick layer of frosting. The raves I get from this are unbelievable. My nephew who doesn't eat desserts asked for a second helping. My boss--who is stingy with compliments--took a bite, stopped, forgot himself, and raved about it. And EVERYBODY asks for the recipe. When I offered the recipe for the filling only, they didn't understand. Use the filling with ANY cake, ANY fruit, or use your imagination with chocolate, nuts, or other flavors. Once the finished cake is refrigerated, the filling sets to a wonderful texture, lighter than your average frosting but firmer. If you want to impress somebody, use this filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I have made this cake twice now, and both times it was a big hit. Delicious, moist, not too sweet, and excellent presentation. Like others, I would just make a few minor modifications: (1) If you have the time, I recommend making the chocolate cake from scratch using the "Dark Chocolate Cake I" recipe from "Carol." You will either need to customize that recipe to make enough for two 9-inch round pans instead of the three called for, OR you can use the extra batter to make cupcakes! (2) As others have noted, you should absolutely double the other ingredients for the frosting. Otherwise there will not be enough to properly cover the top layer and sides. (3) I feel that one 1-ounce square of chocolate is not enough to make the shavings. I'd use two! Also, I've found that it helps to microwave (or otherwise warm) the chocolate before shaving, as this helps achieve the curls you want rather than just messy specks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Used the Dark Chocolate Cake I recipe. The icing is really good, but I like my cakes to have more depth. So I played around with using coffee in the cake recipe to make a mocha cake, added chopped hazelnuts to the side, and topped with shaved chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and he loved it. This was my first attempt at homemade cake and I think I did pretty good. Like another reviewer for the cake portion I used the recipe for Dark Chocolate Cake I by Carol. Next time I will double the filling, I did not have enough and ended up making whipped cream for part of inside layer. The filling is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
A solid, pleases everyone chocolate cake with yummy frosting. Not something I would make to impress company with my baking prowess, but it DID get devoured. MAKE 1 AND 1/2 THE FROSTING (doubling it, as suggested below, is waaay too much - and i love frosting. 1.5 is just right!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Reichenbach

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is simply delicious! So easy to make and looks beautiful. Others have said not enough filling but I felt it was the perfect amount! I have tried other torte recipes and I finally figured out an easy way to split the layers...I used a wooden spoon laying behind the cake and rested the knife edge on it then as I cut I "spun" the cake and it was a perfect cut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Delicious! Both rich tasting and light textured. I used a butter recipe fudge cake mix for the cake. I think next time I will double the filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chloenavasmommy
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I was so nervous about making this cake. It was for my brother's bday and I had never made a torte, and I am NOT a professional cake decorator by any means. So I was really nervous about it looking good. I doubled the filling (except for the brown sugar, which I did 1.5 the amount) and it came out perfect, not too sweet. I made it the day before and chilled it in the fridge so it would be firm. For the cake mix I used strong coffee instead of water to bring out the chocolate flavor and added chocolate chips. The cake was so fudgy and moist and the filling complimented it beautifully. I also layered in sliced strawberries. Cutting the two cakes in half was not the most fun, lol. But the cake turned out gorgeous! Everyone raved about how it looked and tasted. My brother said it was the best bday cake he'd ever had :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This torte is easy to make, and is very, very delicious!!! My only complaint was that I thought it would look prettier than it really did. This could also be due to my own inexperience in putting together things like this, but just be forewarned, that if you're not an expert, you may find that it tastes a lot better than it looks!! That being said, I did take it to a party, and people really did rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Fabulous! It looked like a bakery cake and tasted wonderful, very moist and rich. I doubled the amount of filling, as others suggested. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Torte

This chocolate torte melts in your mouth and is perfect with a glass of milk!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States