Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is wonderful! I made it for my mom's birthday, and everyone loved it. I did make a couple of changes. I am not a fan of dark chocolate, so I used a Devil's Food cake mix. I also doubled the filling.(I ended up using most of it)On each layer I sprinkled Heath toffee bits. I would also recommend purchasing a Wilton cake slicer. It is inexpensive, and a huge help in making the layers perfect! ...Also, I was only able to refrigerate for three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Nice light cake but I'm looking for something with stronger flavor, especially in the cream filling. This was a little flat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very delicious! This is cake that you don't want to serve with ice cream. The cream cheese frosting is better by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAHM4
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I'm surprised any of the frosting made it onto the cake - it was so good I found myself eating it before even frosting the cake!!! I took this to work, and it was a hit. Very tasty, and very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Fabulous! This cake is not only easy to make, it's one of the very best I've ever tasted. My husband also raved about it. Looks like I'll be making this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
A solid, pleases everyone chocolate cake with yummy frosting. Not something I would make to impress company with my baking prowess, but it DID get devoured. MAKE 1 AND 1/2 THE FROSTING (doubling it, as suggested below, is waaay too much - and i love frosting. 1.5 is just right!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Reichenbach

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I made this for dessert for Christmas. We celebrated 1 week early. Everyone was in love with the meal. All receipes from here. But disappointed in the torte. Sorry, but NO FLAVOR! That was the major complaint. I was embarassed to make such a dessert that no one liked! I will not make it again. I was not impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Perfect. i didn't actually make the four layers, as said to do, but i did make a two layer cake, and found that since there weren't as many layers to "fill", the icing didn't go on as skimpily, and there was actually enough icing to cover the exterior of the cake using the original recipe. i also used walnuts in between layers and on top instead of chocolate shavings. i brought this cake to the thanksgiving potluck at my school and it was one of the first desserts finished. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This was a pretty good cake! I used devil's food cake and (based on others suggestions) I made 1.5 the filling. To me, it still felt a bit skimpy between layers, so I will double the original filling amount next time. I also used Cadbury's Dairy Milk shavings on top instead of unsweetened chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States