Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great frosting recipe! Whole family loved it. I used the "dark chocolate cake 1" recipe on the AR site and it made the cake even better. A bit more effort to not use a boxed cake mix but so worth it. Even better the next day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hud

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Photo by jaythecook
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is good for a simple cake mix. The icing is what makes the dessert. I am not a baker nor a cake eater, but it turned out good for my wife's family who loves dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaythecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Not difficult--filling could add a little more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was very good--made it for Easter and everyone loved it. The icing is a nice change from the normal icing I make. I did sub cool whip for the whipping cream and it was fine--I used about a half of a container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLDONLEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is simply delicious! So easy to make and looks beautiful. Others have said not enough filling but I felt it was the perfect amount! I have tried other torte recipes and I finally figured out an easy way to split the layers...I used a wooden spoon laying behind the cake and rested the knife edge on it then as I cut I "spun" the cake and it was a perfect cut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was an amazing recipe! I doubled the amount of icing and used it with the "Dark Chocolate Cake I" recipe off this site and it looked really yummy! Although, the finished product I have not tasted since I sent it off with a friend for a party! The icing was delicious and I would absolutely recommend using fruit in the layers. I sliced up strawberries for the top and then grated chocolate on top! Yummy! I hope some comes back for me to try (I just didn't think it would look good if there was a slice missing!=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very tasty, extremely easy recipe. I would make a double batch of frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Used the Dark Chocolate Cake I recipe. The icing is really good, but I like my cakes to have more depth. So I played around with using coffee in the cake recipe to make a mocha cake, added chopped hazelnuts to the side, and topped with shaved chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's birthday and he loved it. This was my first attempt at homemade cake and I think I did pretty good. Like another reviewer for the cake portion I used the recipe for Dark Chocolate Cake I by Carol. Next time I will double the filling, I did not have enough and ended up making whipped cream for part of inside layer. The filling is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
delicious! I took the advice of other reviewers and made double the frosting, which proved to be just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States