Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chloenavasmommy
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I was so nervous about making this cake. It was for my brother's bday and I had never made a torte, and I am NOT a professional cake decorator by any means. So I was really nervous about it looking good. I doubled the filling (except for the brown sugar, which I did 1.5 the amount) and it came out perfect, not too sweet. I made it the day before and chilled it in the fridge so it would be firm. For the cake mix I used strong coffee instead of water to bring out the chocolate flavor and added chocolate chips. The cake was so fudgy and moist and the filling complimented it beautifully. I also layered in sliced strawberries. Cutting the two cakes in half was not the most fun, lol. But the cake turned out gorgeous! Everyone raved about how it looked and tasted. My brother said it was the best bday cake he'd ever had :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I use dental floss to cut the layers. Just take a piece of floss long enough to cut through entire cake, hold taunt and zig zag through the layer. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
One word - delicious, especially the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smellymel
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
LOVED the original photo on this recipe so I stolen their decor idea! Doubled the frosting recipe (less the unsweetened chocolate - didnt have) Made cupcakes instead of a cake. Filled cupcake with a small amount of frosting (impossible to layer, i think) Frosted sides of cupcake and rolled in crushed pecans, topped with more frosting. *I will crush the pecans into a finer dust next time.* Everybody loved loved loved! I also made a yellow cake batter cupcake, and those turned out just as good as the chocolate! NOTE: I tasted both the finished product of yellow & choc. Personally, I thought the dark choc was too strong. Tasted mostly dark choc & almost no frosting -and I heavily frosted them. Yet my mom who LOVES dark choc LOVED them. Took them home! I guess if you love dark choc, use dark choc. If you arent a fan of dark choc, use a milk choc or a choc fudge recipe? Just saying :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smellymel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This recipe came out great, it was easy and delicious. Following the advice of another reviewer, I doubled the ingredients for the frosting. Because I used apple sauce instead of oil for the cake, it came out really REALLY moist, which is delicious and healthier for you, but also presents issues when frosting. Granted, I am no expert cake maker, but even after refrigerating the cakes overnight, they were super crumbly when frosted, which I think necessitates large quantities of frosting. And the frosting is the best part of this cake so I think you should slap on a lot of it in any case! I had a lot of frosting left over, so I would recommend increasing the icing ingredients by half rather than double. Totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very good and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
used the frosting on "too much chocolate cake" recipe on site. cut the cake rounds in half horizontally then layered with frosting and sliced strawberries to make a monstrously rich, amazing 4 layered behemoth of a cake that was SO good even my boyfriend's friends (who hate me with a passion) couldn't help but compliment it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This cake is so delicious and easy to make. It tastes like HoHos. Everyone loves it! Double the frosting amount as others have suggested. Make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Looks impressive, is easy to make (as cakes go), tastes very good. Based on all the reviews, I increased the filling (all I did was use 1 1/2 whipping cream, kept the rest the same) and that amount was just right. Also, instead of a boxed mix, I used the SUPER EASY "Black Magic Cake" from this site - it's a moist, dark, one-bowl chocolate cake that's as easy as a mix, in my opinion. (B/c it's soft, I was VERY careful cutting it. In fact, I messed up the first time and my layers fell apart so I re-made the cake with success, used a bread knife and went very slowly cutting!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I loved this filling/frosting for a boxed dark chocolate cake that I made. I substituted 1/3 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend for the brown sugar, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States