Chocolate Torte Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
that looks great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabia usman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
i was looking for a great recipe for frosting that uses bittersweet chocolate and i didn't have powdered sugar, so this fits the bill. As long as you stir this constantly while cooking in the double boiler, this comes out great. I added just a touch more chocolate and sugar, because I like it rich and sweet. Chilled and then whipped. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
As someone else said, this is not frosting for a beginner. You have to continuously stir and watch it on the stove. You have to make sure that your eggs don't cook, or else you'll have scrambled eggs in your frosting. I put mine through a strainer before adding to the chocolate. Put your eggs and chocolate in your mixing bowl at the same time. The butter needs to melt, that too can cause lumps. Then you have to put it in the freezer and wait, wait, wait until it is the proper consistency. This was tasty, but I'm not sure that it was worth the effort. It is very rich, so don't put a lot on any cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
YUM YUM YUM YUM!!! This was sooooo good. I don't really like frosting made with just the powdered sugar- this was a delicious alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessaangelrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
"thicken" in the double boiler can have many different interpretations on exactly how thick. My frosting was very rough textured and didn't taste particularly great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crispypumkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Royalton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartcookie
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
i put this frosting on the marble swirl cake found on this website. i added half a cup of milk to the egg mixture before heating and i substituted the squares with unsweetened cocoa powder and added just a little more butter.the result was a not too sweet, creamy, delicious frosting. i made it for a party and got lots of great feedback, some even wanted the recipe. i will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This icing is not for a beginner... you have to know how to use a double boiler correctly and don't panic when you add the chocolate that it gets lumpy because the butter smooths everything out... the suggestion to refridgerate and whip it is very good and the icing itself is quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I would give 0 star if I could. tasted really cheap and it was lumpy and not smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I absolutely loved this frosting recipe. It went perfectly with the torte I made for it and also was terrific for other chocolate cakes. The texture was superb, smooth and fluffy at the same time. I would only advise to add a little more chocolate (well, that is if you are a chocoholic like me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Turned out excellent! My husband will eat whatever type of cake I put this on. When chilled in the fridge and then whipped in the mixer it makes a mousse-like frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States