Chocolate Toffee Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Excellent recipe. I found it useful to triple the amount of vanilla extract in the cookie recipe. Also, instead of using the toffee baking bits, substitute this recipe for real English Toffee. Needed: 1 cup sugar 1 stick butter (not margarine) 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 teaspoon lemon juice 1 greased cookie sheet (one with sides) Prepare by setting a few kitchen towels in the freezer to protect your frozen food from the hot cookie sheet that will come later. Combine all ingedients in saucepan. Heat slowly at low, gradually increaing the heat until the sugar liquifies. Stir continuously with a wooden spoon. Gently increase the heat (a little at a time) while stirring. When you reach between medium low and medium, you will notice the mixture starting to brown. Keep stirring. When it reaches a dark golden brown, pour onto the greased cookie sheet. Set the cookie sheet on top of the towels in the freezer to cool. When thorougly cool to the touch, remove from freezer and break apart (I use a mallot- anything heavy will do- you can even use your hands). Set aside and use in place of the toffee bits in the cookies. Be aware that when the cookies bake, this toffee may run and coat the bottom of the cookies. This makes the cookies quite delicious- almost like a candy/ cookie hybrid. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I prefer a softer cookie, so at first I did not care for these. I put them in tupperware and tried them again the next day, however, and I couldn't stop eating them! They were the Perfect consistency!!! If you prefer softer cookies, I would suggest making them a day ahead! I did not have any rum, so I doubled the vanilla- didn't miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB3267

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Delicious cookies. I made these for my in-laws. 32 cookies and 5 adults. The cookies were gone within 24 hours. This recipe is a keeper. I baked the cookies for 8-9 minutes instead of 11 minutes. This made them slightly chewy. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These weren't the prettiest cookies I've ever made (they kind of look like flattened out mud pies) but man, they sure are good! Very chocolatey, thin and crispy, almost like a brownie/toffee cookie brittle only not quite that crunchy. I like my cookies a little thicker, so I'd like to play around with different cookie sheets or maybe lose the parchment paper I used this time. It all really does make a difference! I used Heath Bits and chopped pecans which both truly make this cookie special. Just a suggestion, but save your precious rum for another use as you can't taste it at all anyway - and no need to double up on the vanilla as I noticed some reviewers have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
WARNING! You can easily OD on these cookies! I am a choc. lover and these are to die for. I had to alter it a little because of what I had on hand. First of all double this recipe....you will thank yourself you did. I used 3 to 4 Tbls. of Kahlua which helped the stiff dough, then added a cup of semi sweet choc. chips and coarsely chopped pecans because I had no almonds. I also used a larger scoop (2 TBLS. capacity). I baked these on my baking stone which turns out a much better cookie because they don't spread out, they bake up and leave a nice thicker cookie.( you will need to adjust your baking time when using a stone). I always bake extra and freeze in a ziplock for later. I give a BIG THANKS! for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These are so yummy. I added white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
these are fabulous, i made them for the playoff meal and they disappeared. i added white chocolate chips and chopped caramels. perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I used Kahlua instead of the rum (personal preference) and left out the nuts. OMG, these were awesome! I'll definitely be making these cookies again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Excellent. The kicker is the brownie like center with the crisp outside. I used pecans instead of almonds. I used the rum but am not sure it brought anything to the party and I will try kahlua next time. I doubled the recipe without any problems. This recipe will join my christmas cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
If you love chocolate, you'll definitely like these cookies! I didn't have rum, so I used extra vanilla. Like another reviewer mentioned, I bake them a shorter amount of time because the cookies looked like they might otherwise have been a little too crispy for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States