Chocolate Toffee Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Excellent recipe. I found it useful to triple the amount of vanilla extract in the cookie recipe. Also, instead of using the toffee baking bits, substitute this recipe for real English Toffee. Needed: 1 cup sugar 1 stick butter (not margarine) 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 teaspoon lemon juice 1 greased cookie sheet (one with sides) Prepare by setting a few kitchen towels in the freezer to protect your frozen food from the hot cookie sheet that will come later. Combine all ingedients in saucepan. Heat slowly at low, gradually increaing the heat until the sugar liquifies. Stir continuously with a wooden spoon. Gently increase the heat (a little at a time) while stirring. When you reach between medium low and medium, you will notice the mixture starting to brown. Keep stirring. When it reaches a dark golden brown, pour onto the greased cookie sheet. Set the cookie sheet on top of the towels in the freezer to cool. When thorougly cool to the touch, remove from freezer and break apart (I use a mallot- anything heavy will do- you can even use your hands). Set aside and use in place of the toffee bits in the cookies. Be aware that when the cookies bake, this toffee may run and coat the bottom of the cookies. This makes the cookies quite delicious- almost like a candy/ cookie hybrid. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Truly a great cookie. They end up very thin & crispy, and the toffee bits make them candy-like. I followed the recipe exactly except I used light rum instead of dark rum. I've made them a few times now and they're always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These are great! I've made them several times and they always get rave reviews. I leave out the rum when I make them, and use toffee that I have made rather than the baking bits. Definitely a cookie recipe to try if you haven't already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
These cookies are excellent! I'm really not a big chocolate person, but I loved these cookies (and so did the rest of the family). I will definitely be making them again. UPDATE: The cookies were gone within 2 days! 32 cookies gone within the next day. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Delicious!! I did not have any rum so I skipped that and added an extra teaspoon of vanilla. So good, I made another batch, ran out of almonds for the second batch, but they were still great without them. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Delicious cookies. I made these for my in-laws. 32 cookies and 5 adults. The cookies were gone within 24 hours. This recipe is a keeper. I baked the cookies for 8-9 minutes instead of 11 minutes. This made them slightly chewy. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Not quite the "Best" - but man, these can hold their own! I had a partial bag of Heath Bits to use up and my little ones were all over my case for cookies and I wanted to try something new. Used Butter Crisco, (1 tbs) Rum EXTRACT, left out the nuts, and cut the sugar by 2 tbs (1/8 cup). The young 'uns will have me make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I'm very picky about my cookie recipes. My husband and I like them crisp.I considered not using the rum, but I did.I thought the flavor might be a little too much, but it was great. These were very good cookies and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
MMMmmmm...This cookie was great! I omitted the toffee and rum. I used extra vanilla and pecans and they were still delicious. Great warm out of the oven or the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Wow! These are now my favorite cookies. I did not change a thing, except I left out the almonds (personal preference). I've made them twice and they've been great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States