Chocolate Thumbprints II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipee was a great addition to our Christmas baking! We followed the directions except the egg wash and they turned out wonderful! As long as you are gentle when placing the candy we did not have any trouble with crumbling as some others noted. We made them a little smaller so more bite sized and used Hershey's hugs and Hershey's cordials. Kids had a great time rolling in the red and green sugar! This will be added to our annual baking list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this was excellent like i thought it would be however i used the egg yolk in the mix but did not us the whites to dip in before the sugar and they turned out fine. but just a tip you have to get the chocolate star/kiss into the cookie right away while they are hot and the indent is a must on these cookies i am used to the peanut butter ones. but excellent recipe will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Just mad these. I did not follow the egg white instructions as the wash would not look too good with this cookie. Very little chocolate taste , i would increase to 3 squares. Its ok, nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Love the cookie recipe was easy to make..i use sugar and coconut flakes to roll them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I love these. I've been making them every christmas for the past 4 years. This year I roled the dough in colored spinkles. they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
ehh...not the greatest cookie. I may be to blame though, I put the egg whites in the dough and then had to add more flour, not sure what affect that had. I added 1 tsp peppermint extract and an extra ounce of chocolate so they were very tasty, just not the best texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dagny21
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made mine bigger than necessary. They spread out quite a bit when they cooked. Skipped the egg. Sounded like too much work for no reason I could figure. Someone says these aren't chocolaty enough, but I found them to be very chocolaty. Rolled them in red and green sugar and they turned out pretty for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beccahhh
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Instead of using a Hershey's kiss, I chose to make a simple cream cheese frosting and top with either a strawberry, rasberry, or blueberry. I mixed it up a bit for the 4th of July. It's a twist to the recipe, but it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beccahhh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I would not make these again. The egg wash didn't work out so well so I just rolled them in sugar. They looked nice but were very crumbly and did not hold up well. They were also very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
The men in my family really like these. I also skipped the egg white step. The cookie was pretty delicate and didn't store that well. Next time I will use a different recipe I have for a fudgy brownie type cookie. I topped them with the caramel kisses and put them back in the over for a few seconds,then spread like icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States