Chocolate Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bossy_mama0509
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I added about 2 tbs more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This is amazing! It is darker than Hersheys, and I LOVE dark chocolate! One tiny thing I have to say, though, is that it tastes kind of like flour. Just a little. It might be the cocoa powder that I use. Still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This recipe is great! My parents and little cousins all loved it, but I find the sauce to be too thin so I added 4 tablespoons of cornstarch and ended up with just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Mine did not thicken at all, but the chocolate flavor is rich and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
So good,and so simple. I did add 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum to thicken. Made with cane sugar to avoid GMO beet sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
AWESOME!!! Made some of the modifications others noted. Dissolved 1 cup organic granulated sugar and 1/2 cup organic powdered sugar in 1.5 cups of distilled water on low heat. Then added 1.5 cups of organic cacao powder and turned heat to medium. As soon as it began to boil I took it off the flame (gas stove). I then stirred in the 1 tsp organic Vanilla extract and 1/8 tsp pink himalayan salt. I also added only 3 drops of the liquid vanilla creme stevia. I let it cool and then poured it into a glass jar and set it in the refrigerator. Even before placing it in the refrigerator I found it to be the perfect consistency for making chocolate milk. After refrigeration it was thicker and would be perfect for topping ice cream. The taste was awesome! My only regret is not even thinking about making my own chocolate syrup sooner. This recipe yielded a far superior syrup at only a fraction of the cost of organic chocolate syrups in the store! I had xanthan gum ready to add to the recipe, but it was not needed. Thank you to everyone for such a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
made this but it never got thick. would make it in a pinch, but went back to buying chocolate syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
this is a great recipe but it takes a lot longer than 5 minutes cook time to go from low to simmering. your low setting must be blazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I did make one adjustment. I put the pot on medium heat and stirred constantly until it began to bubble. Then I followed the rest of the directions. It gets a little thicker as it cools, but this is the same consistency as Hershey syrup for chocolate milk so you don't want it very thick. My kids like it much more than store bought! It reminds me of the taste of Hershey syrup from when I was a child - before high fructose corn syrup became the main ingredient! Thanks for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and added a can of sweetened condensed milk. This made the recipe more "fudgie"! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States