Chocolate Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this for my 84 year old Dad. he wanted some chocolate syrup on his ice cream and we did not have any. He loved it and now I make it for him when he is in his mood for a chocolate fix. Thanks for sharing Zen K. "JP" #1FL.Pigsmoker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Delicious and easy....made half a recipe to start with and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mother

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The sauce tastes good, I just had to add a tablespoon of cornstarch and bring it to a boil in order to achieve the right consistency. Without cornstarch, it is way too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Items90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
When my husband read the ingredients list on the side of a bottle of store-bought chocolate syrup, he was insulted when he discovered that there was nearly no cocoa or chocolate in it at all. That's when I went hunting and came upon this recipe. Pondering the ingredients, I went to my pantry and found some organic, tinned coconut milk in and thought I'd try that as a substitute for the water--and WOW! The fam was crazy about it! I'll never make this with water. If I'm out of coconut milk I'll use skim milk. Just that much more complexion to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Just made this this morning because I was so desperate for chocolate milk! Used it right out of the saucepan and totally hit the spot ?? I used half regular cocoa and half dark powder and it is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Even good when we have used sucanat (the least processed raw sugar we know of). The taste is modified a little by that, but I personally like that flavor change. More than that, the added minerals help keep me from having to deal with increased auto-immune flare-ups (mine are relatively mild when I watch how much of this kind of thing I enjoy, especially when I avoid white sugar and white flour, corn and potatoes - at least for the most part.....).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erwinkprs
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This recipe was very easy to follow and took no time at all. Since my husband doesn't like chocolate, I replaced the cocoa powder and sugar with lentils and carrots. I also took out the vanilla extract and instead added some celery, garlic and vinegar. It was the best chocolate syrup my husband ever tasted, will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Err'body loved it over vanilla ice cream. Followed fellow users advice to melt sugar in water (I used a little less than asked for of milk) before adding cocoa. Perfecto consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Easy to make and tastes good. Does not thicken on stove top. I cooked mine for at least 15 minutes. Boiled it more than once, nothing. It cooled and thickened in the frig. If you cool on counter and stir ever few minutes you can avoid the top skimming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Perfect. No changes needed, that's for sure! My Husband said, if I hadn't told him that the chocolate milk I served was made with this homemade chocolate syrup, he wouldn't have known the difference from Hershey's! He LOVED it, and I do, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States