Chocolate Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Awesome recipe! Very similar to another recipe I found, but this one is sweeter. I use an oversized pot so I don't have to worry as much about boiling over& I boil for like 8 minutes. I'm allergic to high fructose corn syrup & other artificial sweeteners (tongue swells& mouth blisters) so I can't use anything in my local grocery stores. I really like dunk's mocha swirl ice coffees but can't have their syrup& starbucks uses all natural ingredients but it's kinda expensive. So now I can make my own chocolate coffee drink at home for a LOT less & not have to worry about an allergic reaction. :-D I've read that eating a spoonful of local honey will help with seasonal allergies, so sometimes I use a little less sugar & add a little local honey when it cools a bit so I can pretend it's almost healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
My kids LOVED this! ! I will make this from now on...I originally made a powdered mix for them to make chocolate milk and they hated and constantly wasted milk. ...no more wasted milk in this house now! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I love this recipe. I will usually make it with raw sugar and Hershey dark chocolate cocoa powder (it's hard to get some cocoa with flavornoids, so I make do). I do have a problem trying to understand the calories. So it's 16 serving, which is 85 calories.. But what is considered a serving via this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Garrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Delicious! Amazing over ice cream! Couldn't be easier to make. Plenty thick for syrup...but bring to a boil for a minute or two. Must try...wow your friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Shelton Cato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
My son wanted chocolate milk, and since we never buy chocolate syrup, thought I would check allrecipes for a recipe for it. And bingo, found this, made a 2/3 batch and voila...syrup for chocolate milk and mochas. One thing I did different...I added the chocolate powder and sugar to my container first, then added boiling hot water to the mix and stirred. Too many lumps, so I grabbed the whisk and whisked it. Used immediately in milk, and my son gave it a thumbs up. I have it in the fridge now to cool, but tasting the mocha I made with it makes this a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
This is great! My grandsons were skeptical at first when I told them I made it but are big fans now. I do add a bit of cornstarch which just helped to thicken it. Otherwise it is perfect and taste is a ten! The boys have ice cream with chocolate syrup every day they are with me at 3 p.m.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bossy_mama0509
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I added about 2 tbs more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This is amazing! It is darker than Hersheys, and I LOVE dark chocolate! One tiny thing I have to say, though, is that it tastes kind of like flour. Just a little. It might be the cocoa powder that I use. Still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This recipe is great! My parents and little cousins all loved it, but I find the sauce to be too thin so I added 4 tablespoons of cornstarch and ended up with just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Mine did not thicken at all, but the chocolate flavor is rich and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States