Chocolate Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
So good,and so simple. I did add 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum to thicken. Made with cane sugar to avoid GMO beet sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
AWESOME!!! Made some of the modifications others noted. Dissolved 1 cup organic granulated sugar and 1/2 cup organic powdered sugar in 1.5 cups of distilled water on low heat. Then added 1.5 cups of organic cacao powder and turned heat to medium. As soon as it began to boil I took it off the flame (gas stove). I then stirred in the 1 tsp organic Vanilla extract and 1/8 tsp pink himalayan salt. I also added only 3 drops of the liquid vanilla creme stevia. I let it cool and then poured it into a glass jar and set it in the refrigerator. Even before placing it in the refrigerator I found it to be the perfect consistency for making chocolate milk. After refrigeration it was thicker and would be perfect for topping ice cream. The taste was awesome! My only regret is not even thinking about making my own chocolate syrup sooner. This recipe yielded a far superior syrup at only a fraction of the cost of organic chocolate syrups in the store! I had xanthan gum ready to add to the recipe, but it was not needed. Thank you to everyone for such a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
made this but it never got thick. would make it in a pinch, but went back to buying chocolate syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
this is a great recipe but it takes a lot longer than 5 minutes cook time to go from low to simmering. your low setting must be blazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I did make one adjustment. I put the pot on medium heat and stirred constantly until it began to bubble. Then I followed the rest of the directions. It gets a little thicker as it cools, but this is the same consistency as Hershey syrup for chocolate milk so you don't want it very thick. My kids like it much more than store bought! It reminds me of the taste of Hershey syrup from when I was a child - before high fructose corn syrup became the main ingredient! Thanks for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and added a can of sweetened condensed milk. This made the recipe more "fudgie"! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I just recently tried this recipe, and it turned out better than I could have imagined! I have two toddler boys who absolutely love chocolate milk, so this recipe is very useful. I already had all the ingredients needed so I made it the minute I found the recipe! I doubt I'll be purchasing any from the store anymore. My sons loved it also so it's definatley a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this for my 84 year old Dad. he wanted some chocolate syrup on his ice cream and we did not have any. He loved it and now I make it for him when he is in his mood for a chocolate fix. Thanks for sharing Zen K. "JP" #1FL.Pigsmoker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Delicious and easy....made half a recipe to start with and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mother

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The sauce tastes good, I just had to add a tablespoon of cornstarch and bring it to a boil in order to achieve the right consistency. Without cornstarch, it is way too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Items90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States