Chocolate Syrup Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Rich and delicious just as I remember from when Mom made these for my brothers and me. I followed the recipe exactly. They are even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
wanted a recipe that was fudgy without baking chocolate squares, not quite what I was looking for the brownie its self was very cakey however the frosting more than made up for it. I used a 9 by 13 glass baking dish and they weren't too thin. when the brownies were outliving their welcome I chopped them up finely and threw them into the chocolate syrup ice cream recipe here on the site and omg amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I had a large container of chocolate syrup leftover from another event---enough to make three batches of this recipe. The recipe is worth keeping for that reason. I, too made the recipe in a 13 x 9 inch pan. I did receive compliments on the brownie, though I have other recipes that I prefer more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These are really a 10 star brownie! Thin, light, moist and chocolatey! For the viewers who thought they were dry, start checking the brownies after about 15 min with a toothpick. If it comes out clean, the brownies are done. In my oven they are done in about 22 min. Everyone's oven temp is different. When trying out a new recipe I always test for doneness about 15 min. earlier than the recipe calls for. I have been making these brownies for years. My mother made these brownies for years as I was growing up. I have her hand written recipe which is the very same as this one and as I read the reviews and saw some saying these were dry I had to post mine review as well. I made two sheet cakes of brownies this past weekend for an open house. The last few were today were just as moist as they were on Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
We didn't have any cocoa powder and really wanted to make brownies. These were just about as easy as using a mix and every bit as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittny Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
These were very cry and thin. IF I make these again I will grease he pan and use a smaller pan like 13x9 and cut back on the amount of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Okay, but not what I was looking for. This tasted more like a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blj4445
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
These brownies were dry, spongy and tough. Not very chocolatey. Very disapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I have an almost identical version of this recipe in an old book and decided to try it when I was craving brownies but didn't have chocolate chips or baking chocolate on hand for melting. Since one reviewer said it lacked a strong chocolate flavor and I also thought there would be wayyyy too much sugar in this recipe (a cup of sugar PLUS all the HFCS in the syrup?!) I made the following adjustments: I used 1 1/2 cups of syrup (as opposed to 2 cups which would be 16oz) and I added 1/2 cocoa powder. The result tasted like brownies from a boxed mix, which honestly I am not particularly fond of but it wasn't too bad for a last-minute brownie emergency. I would say avoid the frosting on these if you want to actually taste your brownies. Anything made from melted chocolate like the frosting will have a stronger chocolate taste than the brownie itself and then you end up using the brownie as a tasteless spoon for the chocolate. I much preferred to eat the brownie without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
OMG! These are absolutely delicious! I was hankering for some brownies late one night, had syrup lying around and decided to bake these. Yummy!! They were gone within 24 hours (I ate most of them!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States