Chocolate Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
The cookies taste great, but the yield is wrong. I was lucky to get 24 cookies out of the batch. If they were any smaller, the marshmallows wouldn't have fit. Just double the recipe if you want a reasonable quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I like that this dessert was very different from other desserts that I made but I didn't use the pecans because I am very allergic to them and also I am very allergic to almonds and other tree nuts. I will decide to make this again some time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These cookies turned out great. I didn't have enough ingredients to make the frosting, but the marshmallow on top was fine all by itself. I thought the marshmallows would be too sticky to press down, but I was wrong - it was perfect(I used the back of a spatula to press the marshmallows down). If you are planning to freeze these cookies (like I am), be sure to use plastic wrap between cookies to prevent sticking. The only down-side to this recipe - it did not make as much as I wanted. I doubled the recipe, and after using a small icecream scoop to scoop the dough, it still only made about 38 cookies. Still, these were great and worth remaking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I just made this cookies and they're very good! I used a small cookie scoop and got 32 cookies out of one batch. I didn't use pecans on top because my kids wouldn't eat them anyway. Instead of brushing the frosting on (I couldn't figure out how exactly to do that) I turned the cookies upside down and dipped the marshmallow portion into the warm frosting. Then I allowed the excess frosting to drip off before placing the cookie back on the cooling grid right side up. They're very nice looking cookies. The frosting has a nice sheen when it cools. I think I'll make some for the holidays and put some sprinkles on top while the frosting is still 'wet.' This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I made these cookies for my kids' Valentine's Day parties at school. Instead of the large marshmallows, we used 2 of the little ones - worked excellent! Didn't use the pecans as the schools are nut free. Also, with the icing - all I did was drizzle it over the cookies using the end of my spatula! They look great and my husband loves them - says they taste like cookie/brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These cookies were a dissapointment. I didn't care for the texture of the cookie and the frosting remained a little sticky and gooey even after the cookies had sat for a while. They looked good but were difficult to manage due to the sticky marshmallow and sticky frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAGAGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is a good recipe as in it all works out. I did get 36 cookies. However, it is very complicated and the finished product tastes just like something you can buy at the store already made. While the taste was very good it was just not worth messing up all my pans, utensils and entire kitchen!! If you decide to make these, be aware of the time you will spend making these and cleaning up afterwards. My son enjoyed helping putting the marshmallows on. I topped with almonds instead of pecans. When i frosted the cookies, I set them on a wire rack with foil underneath. I had to scrape the foil and reapply the frosting twice. It did not "set" until the next day. But don't skip the frosting because it is the tastiest part. It was something different but I won't make again...not because of the taste or it didn't turn out right, because of the mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
No kidding, one of the best cookies I have ever made. I read a review that had a lot to say about the mess which I didn't really understand. It was just a couple mixing bowls, measuring cups and a baking pan and some beaters to clean up just like any other cookie! I say make them for sure. I used mini marshmellows (2) since I didn't have any large and topped some with chopped nuts and some without. These are chewy and chocolatey like a brownie but with something "extra". As for the icing, brushing it on did seem like it may make it difficult so I just drizzled in on with a small spatula and they looked fabulous! You can't eat just one of these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Wonderful cookies. I rarely give 5 stars but these deserve them! They were a huge, huge hit in our home. The cookie texture is soft, almost cake-like and not too sweet. A great treat, and not hard to make like some other reviews stated. It was not any messier than a standard cookie recipe. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was soooooo good! just the number of how many cookies it made was off. My freind and I made these quit easily. I would definitly recomend this recipe to my freinds and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States