Chocolate Surprise Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
"I can die a happy man, now that I've had one of these cupcakes" so said one of my co-workers. I followed recipe as is and this cupcake recipe is AMAZING and probably the best cupcake I've ever had. Not only are they wonderful warm and gooey from the oven (like a mini lava cake), but once they cool, they are like having a bit of cheesecake with your cupcake. We make these often in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Everyone raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tillys Little Cakes
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Follow to a T all the time. My favorite so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Not dense or chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
They looked beautiful and the filling was great but the cake was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very unique and yummy cupcakes! Followed recipe exactly except for I took cupcakes out at 20 minutes and found them to be perfectly done. Definitely let them cool completely before eating. The cream cheese part does not taste like cheesecake as I thought it would but delicious none the less. The semisweet chocolate chips add just the right amount of flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bellbrat1971
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I adjusted the recipe by changing the oil to unsweetened applesauce, the sugar to Stevia in the Raw and the cream cheese to reduced fat. Made it as a cake and it is TO DIE FOR!! 24 pieces = 3 WW PointsPlus each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I loved the cupcake portion of the recipe but not the filling. Next time I will make a marshmallow filling. I loved the chocolate cupcake portion, just added some espresso powder to it and the flavor was not too sweet and loved the texture. Another thing was I followed the recipe from the AllRecipes magazine and it didn't say how many cupcakes it made so I had some leftover batter and filling. Afterwards I went online and the website version did give the amount the recipe made. Wished I had gone there before making these cupcakes/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisabeth
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this from a cookbook I have and was very glad to see it here. I made a mistake when putting the ingredients together and put the dry chocolate in the cream cheese and bits, so I added everything else and stirred. Then I sprayed with Pam and filled a mug 1/2 full of the mixture and baked for 1 minute. Repeating this until the mixture was gone. You need to clean the mug after every use as moisture collects in the bottom, so wipe or wash and spray just a quick spray of Pam, it came out like a lava cake. The cream cheese when to the bottom and was a great dessert with my life saver dinner last night when the oven went out. I did use cider vinegar as I had no white vinegar and I used 3 banty eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I love these cupcakes. I made them as the recipe says, using mini chocolate chips in the filling, but the regular ones would have worked as well. I have 2 cupcake tins -- one is silver and the other is dark non-stick, and the ones in the dark tin puffed up more. Tasted just the same, but the puffier ones were prettier. Either way, it's such an easy recipe and we gobbled. The magazine said if you want to freeze them, leave them in the tins, cover well, and freeze solid, then transfer to bags to keep frozen. Highly recommend that as they are very delicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States