Chocolate Surprise Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I love these! Such a nice change from the standard cupcake. I've made them for my son's birthday party and will be doing so again this year. Everyone raved about them, and the leftovers were gobbled up in just a few days. They're also great with a cream cheese frosting or butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My daughter has been requesting black bottom cupcakes for a couple of weeks. I couldn't find the recipe I used several years back so decided to try this one based on the ratings and reviews. The chocolate chips in the cream cheese batter were an extra treat. Certainly not a lo-cal dessert, but delicious all the same. I followed the recipe exactly and did put one third batter in each paper cup, then cream cheese mixture and topped with remaining batter. My daughter was very happy with dessert tonight. I'd just note that there was enough batter and cream cheese filling for at least 4 more cupcakes had I not filled the papers to almost overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was a great recipe! I made them for my family and friends and everybody loved them. The only thing I did different was I substituted 1/4 cup vegetable oil for the egg in the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe, but they just weren't that good. Sort of bland and not very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made a batch of these this evening. Only thing that was changed was apple vinegar vs reg vinegar. If I didn't make them for coworkers, I'd have ate every last one, they are Delish! They don't need frosting, I agree with many about that, I simply did some thin line piping for appearance. I filled 1/3 with mix, added my dollop of filling, then covered with mix. Top edges were not crunchy per se but gave it character, rest was moist, chocolatey, and creamy. 20mins in oven and done! Bam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
We made these for the second time yesterday and they are delicious! Great recipe that we did not change at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have tried it quite a few times. The first time I baked the cupcakes, they turned out great even though i used bicarbonate of soda instead of baking powder so i thot that the recipe was forgiving however after that i made it again 3 more times. All three times i failed even though i followed the recipe. The fourth time, i had no choco powder so i had to use a substitute.It was horrible! So I think that this was awesome but one sentence - stick to the recipe Thnx for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe for years, but I like a little cake with my cream cheese, so I double the cream cheese filling. We like to eat these right out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made 2 batches. The first batch turned out terrible and the second was very good. Here's what I learned: I used boxed cake mix and it was still delicious. Be super liberal with the cream cheese filling. It makes a huge difference. And most importantly, do not over bake! I stuck my toothpick in and saw it was wet so I baked another 5 minutes. Huge mistake! The wet was from the melted chocolate chips. Duh! The final time I used was 18 minutes. I love frosting as much as the next person, but I like these better without frosting. I frosted the first batch and it was too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States