Chocolate Surprise Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I have been making these since college friend brought them from home....in the 1970's. Still a favorite and they freeze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
like this recipe. taste marvelous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Not too sweet. Perfect to freeze, and pull out when you're craving a little something chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shery
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Thee best cup cake I ever made in my life
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I love these! Such a nice change from the standard cupcake. I've made them for my son's birthday party and will be doing so again this year. Everyone raved about them, and the leftovers were gobbled up in just a few days. They're also great with a cream cheese frosting or butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfalke
Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My daughter has been requesting black bottom cupcakes for a couple of weeks. I couldn't find the recipe I used several years back so decided to try this one based on the ratings and reviews. The chocolate chips in the cream cheese batter were an extra treat. Certainly not a lo-cal dessert, but delicious all the same. I followed the recipe exactly and did put one third batter in each paper cup, then cream cheese mixture and topped with remaining batter. My daughter was very happy with dessert tonight. I'd just note that there was enough batter and cream cheese filling for at least 4 more cupcakes had I not filled the papers to almost overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was a great recipe! I made them for my family and friends and everybody loved them. The only thing I did different was I substituted 1/4 cup vegetable oil for the egg in the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe, but they just weren't that good. Sort of bland and not very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Not too sweet ... Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made a batch of these this evening. Only thing that was changed was apple vinegar vs reg vinegar. If I didn't make them for coworkers, I'd have ate every last one, they are Delish! They don't need frosting, I agree with many about that, I simply did some thin line piping for appearance. I filled 1/3 with mix, added my dollop of filling, then covered with mix. Top edges were not crunchy per se but gave it character, rest was moist, chocolatey, and creamy. 20mins in oven and done! Bam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States