Chocolate Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gehbienes
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I think these cookies place a nice spin on chocolate sugar cookies. They're chewy and delicious. After recently coming across cinnamon M&M's, I decided to make these cookies with them. They're yummy. The cinnamon/chocolate flavor is subtle - and I would keep it that way. The only other thing I did differently was to replace the shortening with butter. When I did that, I chilled the cookie dough in the fridge for an hour before shaping and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These did not work out at all. Dough was extremely sticky so I put in the fridge which then hardened too much. They spread waaay too much in the oven. The taste was really lacking and I think the cinnamon overpowered. I had even doubled the chocolate as was suggested by other and it still was not chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good cookies. Instead of rolling dough out and cutting shapes, I rolled dough into balls and sugared them. They needed a little more cooking time, but they came out nice and chewy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Yummy but didnt keep their shape at all - made big puddles of cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacey
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This makes a great simple dough to roll out and cut with cookie cutters. I didn't have mollases and needed a brown cookie for dog bone shaped cookies. So this was perfect! I like the hint of cinnamon and doubled the chocolate as suggested by others. I baked for 10 minutes. Recipes with shortening will be crispy if you bake too long, so it's better to underbake if you don't want a crispy cookie. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Was looking for a nice chocolaty sugar cookie, this one is not it, has a dull flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These cookies were not chewy, but more crunchy like a snap cookie. We also had trouble rolling them out, so we ended up just rolling them into balls and then rolling them in sugar before baking. They are a nice change, not too chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Hendrickson Butts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Pretty good flavor--not too chocolatey or cinnamony. However they were not chewy, but a nice crisp cookie to ice for Christmas or Valentine's Day. Don't put too close together on the cookie sheet though, because they do grow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I doubled up on the chocolate and the sugar, but these cookies still were not very chocolatey. The cinnamon pretty much takes over the flavor, and I wouldn't exactly describe them as "chewy". However, I still give these cookies a higher rating, because they are quite tasty and they are still a nice change for cut out cookies. I also varied the recipe and drizzled white chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States