Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was very good! I made my own whipped cream from the "whipped cream" recipe on this site, i also used chocolate covered strawberries also from this site redipped and drizzled in peanut butter. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I added some almond flavoring to the dough and dropped them onto a cookie sheet like a biscuit. Also sprinkled a pinch of sugar on the tops. I liked them a lot but prefer regular shortcake. Just personal taste. The recipe worked for me. Had no problems with it being dry or crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Though I was concerned since the batter was very thick and had to be pressed by hand into the pan, this shortcake is outstanding. The family loved it and already asked that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I altered this only that I used skim milk and light cool whip topping. in the last month I've had 4 requests for this to be made. I'm not sure what other people said about it being too crumbly I found that it stayed together well and tasted FABULOUS! I didn't drizzle the chocolate syrup as I felt it would ruin the "look" and everyone said it was great without it even though it was available to add if they wanted it. I definatly recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Not bad, but not great either. I guess I just prefer my shortcake plain as the chocolate flavour did nothing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Easy and very simple to make. I added a teaspoon of almond extract to the batter and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I think some of the people who were not happy with this recipe might be confused about what "shortcake" is. Maybe they were expecting "cake". Shortcake is supposed to be more like a biscuit or scone. I think this is a really good recipe, though you're doing it a big disservice if you use frozen whipped topping instead of real whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Even before I poured the batter in the pan, I could tell that this was not going to work for me. I followed the recipe and am an experienced baker, but still the cake came out very dry and tasteless. I'm giving two stars only because we were still able to eat the strawberries, whipped cream, and chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
The cake came out perfectly! This is one of the best I've ever made - it tasted delicious and looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
We don't add the chocolate to the shortcake and we always have to be careful to remember that the recipe gives us the instructions to make the strawberries and also the shortcake. When looking at the total amount of sugar, you have to be careful that you are separating how much sugar you are putting in the strawberries and how much in the shortcake. This recipe is outstanding, and we've really enjoyed this recipe. We've had it about five times now and it always turns out great. Before cooking, the dough is nice and perfect. Its crumbly texture is perfect before and after you stretch the dough out on the cooking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States