Chocolate Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by michelle_cows
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
it was a really great cake recipe.. one that i am going to make for my son for his birthday. we are going to try it as a 13x9 cake-pan-size one-layered cake... let you know how it turns out.. thx for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_cows

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was overall a good recipe. I doubled the amount of sugar in the cake but omitted the chocolate on top, as well as the orange liqueur. It was still not too sweet but tasted more like a dark chocolate. It looked very pretty sliced on a dessert plate that had been drizzled with chocolate syrup! My family liked this dessert, and we will be making it again. Remember to close container tightly in fridge for storage so the cake will not dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Wow! What a delicious and good looking cake! And very easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very good! I used butterscotch syrup instead of the chocolate syrup, but still awesome! Will try with blueberries too next tme I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was an excellent recipe, although I added raspberries along with the strawberries and dispensed with the chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
OK, found it very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I just did strawberry cake and on top chocolate and strawberry syrup with lots more strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made it in to cupcakes it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States