Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I have been doing this on my own for years. I just thought I would include some other information I hope might help some out. Make sure to use room temperature, washed and thoroughly dried strawberries. Often I will go to the local specialty market where I can hand pick individual strawberries to get the perfect size and shape. I bring them home, wash and let them dry. I generally hold mine by the stem into the chocolate and spoon the chocolate over them...I learned from experience that often when dipping them the stem will break off otherwise...so mine are more chocolate covered strawberries than chocolate dipped. I then place mine on wax paper lined trays. Sometimes I drizzle mine with some melted white chocolate for an elegant touch. Then I refrigerate about an hour. Be sure to use high qualtiy chocolate...and no need to add shortening either. I never liked it that way (some recipes call for it) I personally don't like using it because of the trans fat. They don't last long! And, they are wonderful for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
870 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
These are really easy and impressive! Just a few pointers I learned from Hubby the Produce Clerk: 1. Wash the berries (they can be sandy) and always dry strawberries (pat with a kitchen towel) or they mush up really fast.2.When you melt chocolate in the microwave, it's easy to burn it if you keep cooking it until it loses its shape. When the chocolate chips look glossy, stir them and micro on in short increments until it stirs smooth. You have to serve these within the day because the heat from the chocolate makes the berries skin go squishy before long. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden variety elf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: District Heights, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Purchased Bittersweet chocolate in bulk form as a saran-wrapped block. Shaved chocolate into slivers, then microwaved in pyrex bowl on low power until melted. Berries should be rinsed and DRIED before dipping. If berry is wet, chocolate will sluff away in places. A *trick* for dipping: stick two toothpicks into strawberry near stem/leaves. After dipping berry, use toothpicks to turn berry chocolate side up, lower berry to wire rack, then remove and re-use toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
387 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Chocolate Tuxedos If you are looking for ooo’s and aaaaaa’s this is a fabulous crowd pleaser. Dip each strawberry into tempered white chocolate (either completely or just the side you will be presenting face up). Allow these to dry. Next, dip both sides (on the left and right of the white chocolate) in your choice of tempered dark, bittersweet, or milk chocolate to create a “V” of white chocolate in the center. Using either a piping bag with a tiny tip or parchment piping bag, pipe a tiny bowtie at the top of the white chocolate and two or three buttons with the chocolate of your choice. Note: Tempering can be very intimidating, but you will be well rewarded for taking the extra time if you plan on eating these at room temperature (you get the full flavor of the strawberry this way). Otherwise, just melt the chocolate and keep the strawberries refrigerated until serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I USED SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE (CHOCOLATE CHIPS) AND THIS RECIPE CAME OUT GREAT! IT CAN'T GET ANY EASIER AND EVERYONE RAVED ABOOUT THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Excellent and so simple! Don't add shortening or oil or milk, don't add a thing. Other recipes I tried turned out with the chocolate too mushy. This dried on beautifully with a good crunch. Used semi-sweet and would recommend staying with bitter or semi. The sweetness of dark or milk chocolate overpowers the fruit and makes it taste bitter. That's why bitter or semi works so well. My husband and children devoured these and husband asked if I'd bought them or made them. He thought I spent ages on them. What a keeper. Simple, decadent and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kreativess
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Everyone is so impressed with these! I cant believe how simple it is. I buy the huge bag of Chocolate Chips at Costco for about $7 and the Strawberries are usually on sale at Safeway. My microwave even has a 'Melt Chocolate' setting which runs for 2.5 minutes and stops half way for you to stir. I find the toothpicks to be too short and thin for the big Strawberries, use the candy sticks! Make sure to dry the Strawberries with a paper towel or the Chocolate wont stick when you dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
A nice quick dessert on a summer's evening. I prefer semi-sweet chips and used 1 T. of shortening as suggested by another reviewer. Definitely use a toothpick to insert at the top of each one so you don't burn your fingers. I find the double boiler method on the stove is easier because it keeps the chocolate at a consisent temp. and smooth so you don't have to stop and reheat several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I use Ghirardelli dark chocolate for this one. i dip one side of the strawberry in the chocolate and place it on wax paper opposite side down. throw them in the freezer for 2 minutes to seal the outside and stop the chocolate from dripping. then into the fridge. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I found the chocolate a bit hard to deal with at first so I added vegetable shortening and melted again. This worked out a lot better for me, otherwise this is wonderful and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States