Chocolate Spoons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I made these for Christmas gifts a few days in advance. On Christmas Eve I noticed that they no longer were smooth, but rough and spotty looking. I made up a quick new batch with a tad of shortening and they still look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
These are really great! The're fast, easy, inexpensive, and look impressive, too! They sell for $1.79 each at our specialty store. I made them for less than 20 cents. I did drizzle mine with white chocolate. I also used small candy bags to put them in and attached them to the handle of a coffee mug that had the cappuccino mix from the site in it. Add a bow and it makes a nice gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Works perfectly. I wrapped mine in a square of cello wrap and tied with a bit of ribbon. Note that if you put them in the fridge right away you may get a sugar bloom (as I did). You may want to let the chocolate cool to room temperature before putting in the fridge - this should avoid the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
my girlfriend makes these every year...we also add liquor to the chocolate for the adults to use in their coffee, or hot chocolate...a big hit all winter long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Wonderfully delicious little spoon! To my Christmas gift cups, I attached the spoon to the handle, and inside the cup put a small bag of hot choc. mix enclosed in a plastic bag inside a little fabric print bag with small bow on it, and a small plastic bag holding two heart shaped home-made marshmallows. The marshmallow recipe is found in Martha Stewart's recipes on the Oprah site. Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
I added a little shortening as suggested by another viewer. I also added crushed peppermint candies to a few and marshmallows and chopped nuts to others with drizzles of dark chocolate. They turned out great. I made them for a craft fair to sell along side our hot chocolate. They were a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Yummy :) I make these using spoon molds (I'm not sure where you get them; my mother-in-law gave them to me) and a special kind of chocolate that is used for the molds (higher amount of parafin so that the chocolate hardens and keeps its shape). One note - when making this recipe, make sure you use a high quality (i.e. name brand) of chocolate chips; the store brand doesn't seem to harden back up enough and you end up with a bit of a gooey mess :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I cheated!, I used Hershey kisses & melted them. Dip the spoons & let set-up in fridge, Then drizzled with melted white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Loved this recipe! I added raspberry flavoring and drizzled white chocolate on top. My two daughters & I made 90+ for favors at my 40th birthday celebration. (They didn't all make it to the party!)What a neat treat:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am writing this review with the most delicious cup of chocolate caramel coffee at my side. I crushed Werther's Originals and sprinkled them on the chocolate covered spoons I had made. OUTSTANDING! I thought it would be easy to cover the spoons but found that first I had to covered the back with chocolate, let that harden; then, fill the spoon with chocolate and let that harden. For some reason I thought I would be able to "dip and go". Once I filled the front with chocolate, I sprinkled on the Werther's Originals. (I crushed them till they were almost powder like so they melt nice in the coffee). To let them "dry", I happened to have a box sitting on the table so I slid the handle of the spoon under the flap of the box. This way the chocolate didn't get smashed. They looked very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States