Chocolate Spoons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Simple and a beautiful gift idea. I used crushed Werther's, mini marshmallows, crushed peppermints, and Andes chips on my spoons. Based on other reviews, I did not immediately refrigerate, but allowed the spoons to cool first. This is also a great idea for a child to make...my 6-year-old help me both with dipping and sprinkling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Thought this was a great idea, but when I made them, I put them in the fridge for 30 seconds, and I ended up with lots and lots of little tiny bubbles in them. They did not look good for gifts. I was very disappointed. But on a more possitive note, the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
i used baking chocolate, because i feel that chocolate-chips don't melt well. i am now in middle of making them but i find that the back of the spoon looks a bit messed up. maybe i'll try what someone said here and do the back first... but they look nice in their cellophane wrapper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These were so quick and easy! I made them for Valentine's Day and used white chocolate for the drizzle and made a heart shape on the spoon using a plastic baggie and #2 tip. I used clear plastic spoons. I did not refrigerate and they came out beautifully and hardened pretty quickly. I also added a little shortening to the chocolate when melting and only microwaved 30 seconds stirred and then 1 minute in the microwave. The chocolate wasn't completely melted but soft and I just stirred until smooth. I think 3 mins would burn the chocolate unless you have a very low wattage microwave. Excellent recipe and I loved the other reviews decorating tips for different holidays or occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this once for fun with some leftover chocolate. Most microwaves at 2-3 minutes will burn chocolate. 1 minute in the microwave and stirring after 30 seconds, should be sufficient. To make the drizzling chocolate easier, once melted add some vegetable oil 1 tsp. at a time to thin it out. A bag is not needed then, because it will drizzle great with a fork or spoon held above and moved back and forth around the chocolate spoons. Try some white chocolate to for a nice contrasting color! With that being said I always wondered what people did with these? It is kind of hard eating hardened chocolate off of a spoon. I am guessing for hot drinks? They have an elegant appeal to them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
not the greatest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeni
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
four words; tough but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These are great to make for hostess gifts or to include in a gift basket for any occasion. I actually usually use a candy-making chocolate for these because it'll stay more glossy and you don't have to worry about it getting spotty or 'weird' looking, as I sometimes have that problem just using chocolate chips, but that's just my preference. Also, that way I can choose the quality of chocolate that I want to use. Same concept though, and a great idea! Also, like to either drizzle them w/ white chocolate or decorate them with sprinkles or small molded sugar decorations, just for a little more of a gourmet look. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
What a fun and easy recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Easy and a great idea. I gave these as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States