Chocolate Spiders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Easy recipe. I did tweak it a little bit though- Used a 24oz bag of semi-sweet choc morsels, melted in the mic and instead of using chow mein noodles (not really a fan) I used a 16oz. bag of pretzel sticks. I broke the pretzels up a bit to make the servings smaller- depends on how big you want your spiders. Had some leftover white choc chips I used for the eyes & dotted them with decorating gel. Made about 30-40 "spiders", they look more like monsters to me but they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by memellie
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I have made these several times and they are always a hit. I did make some changes. I use 1 bag of 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips and approx. 1/2 a bag of butterscotch chips. Melt them together in the microwave (butterscotch chips melt at a little higher temp so you need to mix them in and "smoosh" them into the melted chocolate chips.) I can only find 5 oz. canisters of chow mein noodles, so that is what I use. I use some of the remaining butterscotch chips (inverted) for eyes and black gel icing (smallest tube at the store) for the irises. I'll upload a photo. Thanks JSS6801 for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ccmom
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Made these for Teacher Appreciation the week of Halloween (See photo). They are fun and easy to make. I used 1lb of chocolate with a 12oz bag of noodles. Made them last year for my Girl Scout troop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Yummy! But it is even better when you add 1/2 butterscotch chips and milk chocolate chips. I also add peanuts in with the chocolate mixture before I add the noodles. So easy and fun! M&M's make good eyes also. For Christmas you can use a red hot for a nose and two M&M's for eyes. Rudolph!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I made these for a church harvest party and used white chocolate chips for the eyes and couldn't find the confectioner's coating so used semi-sweet chocolate chips. They were a huge hit! Adults as well as kids loved them! Thanks JSS for this delicious and super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Do NOT use ghirardelli it never melted, it is a huge mess, the noodles are not covered and I am going to a party in 3 hours, waste of money and time. If you know the chocolate melts, use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I have made these for years but use 1/2 chocolate chips and 1/2 butterscotch chips and chow mein noodles and 1 cup dry roasted peanuts.My kids are now in their late 20's and still ask for them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
These are so fun and easy! I make these every year with my son and nephews and we always have a blast. Sometimes while I'm melting the chocolate, I'll put a spoon or two of peanut butter in there...YUMMY! We decorate these w/ all sorts of sprinkles and edible decorations. Super fun for kids AND adults! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
really cute idea. Was pretty easy, my 6 yr old daughter helped and we had a great time. Taste? well its tastes like chow mein dipped in chocolate. Nothing tremendous but they're adorable and the kids LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States