Chocolate Spiders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
These are very similar to a Yule cookie recipe that my daughter modified for Halloween, but she calls them "Haystack Monsters". We melt semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of confectioner's chocolate - 10-second bursts in the microwave is easiest. Candy-coated chocolates (we use M&Ms) for the eyes work great and easy - form them on waxed paper, attach the eyes, and let them set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momlovestocook
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Fun for the kids to help make, I used 1 bag of semi sweet chips and a half bag of butterscotch chips. Next time I will leave out the butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Fun idea! I used macadamia halves and mini chips to make eyes. These remind me more of Fry Guys than spiders, but they're pretty cute. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I took these to my sons class for Halloween and the kids loved them. My mom makes this recipe with peanut butter instead of chocolate, she calls them birds nests. Both recipes are great for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
These were great! So easy, my 2 & 3 year old loved them!!! I accidently grabbed peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch, but they came out great. I used the yogurt raisin eyes as some suggested. Just too darn cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These came out great. I used a 12 oz. bag of semi-sweet chips and a tblspn of shortening because I had it on hand. I used the suggestion of yogurt raisins with a dot of black icing for eyeballs. Easy, tasty, and so cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was eazy to make and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERRIWE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kawika Hanaike

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very cute and easy to make. Didn't have any trouble with the noodles breaking. I used a bag of Chocolate-Peanut Butter Chips and mini M&M's for the eyes. Next time I would follow the recipe exactly instead of using the chips - they were a little messy to eat. Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were ok, but the chocolate had that plastic taste that many chocolates have. I have made these using equal amounts butterscotch and chocolate chips, and they are a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States