Chocolate Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I absolutely loved the flavor of this cake! I have been searching for this for years! Okay,the changes I made were simple. I used the spices to my taste. Also, I melted less than 2 ounces of very dark chocolate (83%) and added it to the batter. Unfortunately mine turned out a little dry but I think it had to do with the pan I used. (Nordicware sculpted sheet pan.) Every raved about it with a simple milk chocolate icing. I will try this again tomorrow and add a little applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I followed several of the suggestions in other reviews. I used 3/4 flour and 1/4 cocoa powder, added more spices and used chocolate chips instead of shaved chocolate. I also had to bake the cake 15 minutes longer than suggested but the outcome was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellybeans
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely loved this cake, as others said I used allspice but didnt have pumpkin spice so I used cloves as well. Turned out moist and went over really well with the fam. I had buttercream frosting and it tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
you just need to add cocoa powder to make this truly a chocolate spice cake, can add chocolate chips or my favourite white chocolate chips to this recipe, I have also added craisins to add a twist to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I loved this! I added 1 tsp allspice and mixed essence (I usually add extra spice to my baking) and the flavors were amazing! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I doubled the recipe and made two, 8-inch square cakes. I used 2.5 oz. chocolate (because that's all I had) for the double recipe, but I melted it first to help incorporate it into the batter. I thought the cake was the perfect balance between chocolate and spice. It doesn't need any frosting; it makes a good snack cake just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I love this recipe! I made it for my family and they all love it! Instead of using the cloves i used allspice and pumpkin spice! It was amazing. :) Definitely a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I loved this recipe. Usually when I bake with butter I can't achieve anything as moist as this. And the hint of chocolate from the chocolate shavings was a nice added touch to the flavor. I baked it in an 8-inch square glass pan so it needed 30 minutes instead of 20, but that was the only change I made. I would definitely make this again. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
this cake shouldn't be called chocolate or spice cake. it was moist but anything with eggs and butter usually is. i dressed it up with a cream cheese (hint of orange) frosting and was good but i wouldnt make it again. i'd make a real chocolate cake (oe spice) for that fact. i also added 3 tb. of cocoa powder but it still wasn't chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeanqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmsparkle
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Mmmm - double the chocolate, triple the spices, and this cake is Awesome! Especially good warm from the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States