Chocolate Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I absolutely loved the flavor of this cake! I have been searching for this for years! Okay,the changes I made were simple. I used the spices to my taste. Also, I melted less than 2 ounces of very dark chocolate (83%) and added it to the batter. Unfortunately mine turned out a little dry but I think it had to do with the pan I used. (Nordicware sculpted sheet pan.) Every raved about it with a simple milk chocolate icing. I will try this again tomorrow and add a little applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I followed several of the suggestions in other reviews. I used 3/4 flour and 1/4 cocoa powder, added more spices and used chocolate chips instead of shaved chocolate. I also had to bake the cake 15 minutes longer than suggested but the outcome was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellybeans
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely loved this cake, as others said I used allspice but didnt have pumpkin spice so I used cloves as well. Turned out moist and went over really well with the fam. I had buttercream frosting and it tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
you just need to add cocoa powder to make this truly a chocolate spice cake, can add chocolate chips or my favourite white chocolate chips to this recipe, I have also added craisins to add a twist to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I loved this! I added 1 tsp allspice and mixed essence (I usually add extra spice to my baking) and the flavors were amazing! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I doubled the recipe and made two, 8-inch square cakes. I used 2.5 oz. chocolate (because that's all I had) for the double recipe, but I melted it first to help incorporate it into the batter. I thought the cake was the perfect balance between chocolate and spice. It doesn't need any frosting; it makes a good snack cake just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I love this recipe! I made it for my family and they all love it! Instead of using the cloves i used allspice and pumpkin spice! It was amazing. :) Definitely a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I loved this recipe. Usually when I bake with butter I can't achieve anything as moist as this. And the hint of chocolate from the chocolate shavings was a nice added touch to the flavor. I baked it in an 8-inch square glass pan so it needed 30 minutes instead of 20, but that was the only change I made. I would definitely make this again. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
this cake shouldn't be called chocolate or spice cake. it was moist but anything with eggs and butter usually is. i dressed it up with a cream cheese (hint of orange) frosting and was good but i wouldnt make it again. i'd make a real chocolate cake (oe spice) for that fact. i also added 3 tb. of cocoa powder but it still wasn't chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeanqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmsparkle
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Mmmm - double the chocolate, triple the spices, and this cake is Awesome! Especially good warm from the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States