Chocolate Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2001
I prepared this as a test for Thanksgiving and was asked to bake several more times as well as asked to give out the recipe to my mom-in-law, who loves to bake. It was a big hit to large crowd of hungry (and picky) eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is a great recipe, it produces a very moist and flavorful cake. I've made it twice. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and got good reviews. The second time I doubled the recipe, used a 50/50 ratio of cake flour/all purpose flour, added 1 cup chocolate chips, baked 2-8" layers, and frosted with vanilla buttercream icing. This produced even better results. Everybody that tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
one of the best spice cakes we have ever tried. the chocolate was a great addition, i shared with all the neighbours so i would not eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Excellent spice cake! I do agree with other reviewers that it isn't really chocolaty, but, still I thoght it was probably one of the best spice cakes I've ever tasted! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Someone requested a chocolate spice cake and this recipe was great. I added 2 tsp of choc cocoa and added a pinch of each nutmeg, cloves, and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I loved this! I added 1 tsp allspice and mixed essence (I usually add extra spice to my baking) and the flavors were amazing! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I loved this recipe. Usually when I bake with butter I can't achieve anything as moist as this. And the hint of chocolate from the chocolate shavings was a nice added touch to the flavor. I baked it in an 8-inch square glass pan so it needed 30 minutes instead of 20, but that was the only change I made. I would definitely make this again. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I love this recipe! I made it for my family and they all love it! Instead of using the cloves i used allspice and pumpkin spice! It was amazing. :) Definitely a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shellybeans
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Absolutely loved this cake, as others said I used allspice but didnt have pumpkin spice so I used cloves as well. Turned out moist and went over really well with the fam. I had buttercream frosting and it tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I followed several of the suggestions in other reviews. I used 3/4 flour and 1/4 cocoa powder, added more spices and used chocolate chips instead of shaved chocolate. I also had to bake the cake 15 minutes longer than suggested but the outcome was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States