Chocolate Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Someone requested a chocolate spice cake and this recipe was great. I added 2 tsp of choc cocoa and added a pinch of each nutmeg, cloves, and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was a very moist spice cake, but I think its name is misleading -- it's not chocolaty at all. You could probably leave the shaved chocolate out of it altogether and it might not even make a difference! I used buttercream frosting, but didn't care for that -- I think I'd use choc. frosting next time just so the cake lived up to its name a bit more. I'm not saying it wasn't good -- my husband really liked it! But it waas a spice cake, not in any way a chocolate cake. So, just be warned. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is a great recipe, it produces a very moist and flavorful cake. I've made it twice. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and got good reviews. The second time I doubled the recipe, used a 50/50 ratio of cake flour/all purpose flour, added 1 cup chocolate chips, baked 2-8" layers, and frosted with vanilla buttercream icing. This produced even better results. Everybody that tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmsparkle
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Mmmm - double the chocolate, triple the spices, and this cake is Awesome! Especially good warm from the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Excellent spice cake! I do agree with other reviewers that it isn't really chocolaty, but, still I thoght it was probably one of the best spice cakes I've ever tasted! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I loved this recipe. Usually when I bake with butter I can't achieve anything as moist as this. And the hint of chocolate from the chocolate shavings was a nice added touch to the flavor. I baked it in an 8-inch square glass pan so it needed 30 minutes instead of 20, but that was the only change I made. I would definitely make this again. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
I prepared this as a test for Thanksgiving and was asked to bake several more times as well as asked to give out the recipe to my mom-in-law, who loves to bake. It was a big hit to large crowd of hungry (and picky) eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I doubled the recipe and made two, 8-inch square cakes. I used 2.5 oz. chocolate (because that's all I had) for the double recipe, but I melted it first to help incorporate it into the batter. I thought the cake was the perfect balance between chocolate and spice. It doesn't need any frosting; it makes a good snack cake just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
this cake shouldn't be called chocolate or spice cake. it was moist but anything with eggs and butter usually is. i dressed it up with a cream cheese (hint of orange) frosting and was good but i wouldnt make it again. i'd make a real chocolate cake (oe spice) for that fact. i also added 3 tb. of cocoa powder but it still wasn't chocolatey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeanqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
the cake is perfectly moist, but my family and i found that chocolate doesn't really go with the spice in the cake. the spices overpower the chocolate. but i love the moisture, so i'm gonna replace the spices and put more chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States