Chocolate Sour Cream Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This fudge has the best flavor EVER! After reading others' reviews and seeing the complaint of a tough fudgy brick, I decided to cook it in a double boiler, rather than the saucepot. I find that when cooking sugar, it is easier to do so in a double boiler, as it doesn't overcook and get tough. It turned out gorgeous, perfect, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very good recipe. I used pepperment extract and then topped the fudge with crushed candy canes for some christmas fudge. I also used cocoa powder and some extra butter as I was out of choc squares. It still turned out smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made this fudge over the holidays & it was a big hit! It had a nice creamy consistancy. I also could not find a vanilla fudge recipe to try, so I made this one. I omitted the chocolate & added vanilla. I liked the flavor the sour cream added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I followed the recipe word for word and even used a candy thermometer. It came out so hard that it couldn't be cut or broken into pieces, couldn't even bit it. I wouldn't try the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I wanted to try a recipe with sour cream to see how it would cook and come out. I used white chocolate chips and a rootbeer flavoring. I added more butter and left out the nuts. The fudge was DELICIOUS! I have used cream and evaporated milk before but this gives a tang and a wonderful texture. Try it ... you'll be amazed. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I was afraid that this wouldn't turn out due to it's unconventional cooking method. It turned out beautifully. The next batch I'm going to add coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
OH. MY. GOSH. This turned out soooooo creamy and wonderful~ almost caramel-ish. I didn't have unsweetened chocolate squares so I used about 8 ounces of Hershey's milk chocolate chips. (I didn't actually measure.) Along with the nuts at the end I added a 1/2 cup of raisins as well. SOOOOOOOO good! I cooked this on top of a double boiler but I couldn't get it to reach 240, so I put the double boiler right over the burner and in no time the thermometer was up to the right temperature. I WILL make this again. I'm already thinking about all the variations I can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I followed the directions EXACTLY and it turned to a rock hard clump in my pan! Don't make this, the chunks we got out weren't even good! I will stick to my recipe with fluff. Zero stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Yummy! I love making fudge and this came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I could swear that I had rated this one yesterday. It is some of the creamiest fudge I have ever made. Very consistent and melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States