Chocolate Sour Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
With some revision I found these cookies to be quite tasty. As suggested previously, I added 1 tsp. vanilla and a pinch of salt. I also used cocoa instead of melted chocolate. The conversion is as follows: 1 square of chocolate = 3 Tbs. cocoa and 1 Tbs. butter. I used 9 Tbs. cocoa and 3 Tbs. butter so I did up the chocolate content, but they came out with a really nice chocolate flavor. To make them a bit healthier I used one cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour and raw sugar instead of the white. The consistency was just right and that may have been because I used the whole wheat flour. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Just made these without the walnuts but with Reese's peanut butter chips for my husband. I added the dash of salt and a tablespoon of vanilla & they turned out amazing! I made my cookies big, so I got a yield of 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
In my recipe, I incorporated the suggestions that others gave here, adding 1/2tsp salt, and about 11/4tsp vanilla, as well as about 1/2c more flour. My audience was after crunchy cookies, so I spread them thin and baked for 20min. They turned out pretty well, I'd say. I didn't taste much of the sour cream, as I was hoping to, though I will say, the sour cream was probably what gave the cookies a velvety texture. I only made half the batch, so this time I'll try it after having set in the fridge overnight. Also, perhaps I'll try a dollop of sour cream on top after baking (just for good measure). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novellac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These were okay. I did add a pinch of salt and 1 tsp. of vanilla as others recommended, but definitely not chocolatey enough for me. They did stay soft even 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great! I had a HUGE tub of sour cream from Costco and this was a great combination for a chocolate lover. I read a few reviews before I made it and agreed to double (triple) the chocolate. They turned out great and like cake! We used macadamia nuts because we have a tree growing near us here and hand picked them. That made them even better to us. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
these were really simple and easy! and very tasty!! i didnt have 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate, but i had 1 square of sweetened and 1 squar of unsweetened. i also added some chocolate chips! mmmmm moist! and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freakishej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Really tasty! I made with white whole wheat flour (it was all I had!) and they weren't unbearably heavy. Also, not tremendously sweet, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
To a doubled recipe,I added half again as much chocolate, 1 tsp, vanilla, 1 tsp salt and 2 cups mini M & Ms. They turned out great and tasted wonderful! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I liked these better after they cooled ... the flavor isn't very strong. Maybe some extra cocoa powder would kick them up a bit, but they aren't bad. I loved the soft, cakey texture. I'll make these again. I did add vanilla (1 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrnTheEmpireDown
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
nice soft, totally like little cakes. very tasty indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrnTheEmpireDown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States