Chocolate Sour Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
With some revision I found these cookies to be quite tasty. As suggested previously, I added 1 tsp. vanilla and a pinch of salt. I also used cocoa instead of melted chocolate. The conversion is as follows: 1 square of chocolate = 3 Tbs. cocoa and 1 Tbs. butter. I used 9 Tbs. cocoa and 3 Tbs. butter so I did up the chocolate content, but they came out with a really nice chocolate flavor. To make them a bit healthier I used one cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour and raw sugar instead of the white. The consistency was just right and that may have been because I used the whole wheat flour. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Just made these without the walnuts but with Reese's peanut butter chips for my husband. I added the dash of salt and a tablespoon of vanilla & they turned out amazing! I made my cookies big, so I got a yield of 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
In my recipe, I incorporated the suggestions that others gave here, adding 1/2tsp salt, and about 11/4tsp vanilla, as well as about 1/2c more flour. My audience was after crunchy cookies, so I spread them thin and baked for 20min. They turned out pretty well, I'd say. I didn't taste much of the sour cream, as I was hoping to, though I will say, the sour cream was probably what gave the cookies a velvety texture. I only made half the batch, so this time I'll try it after having set in the fridge overnight. Also, perhaps I'll try a dollop of sour cream on top after baking (just for good measure). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novellac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These were okay. I did add a pinch of salt and 1 tsp. of vanilla as others recommended, but definitely not chocolatey enough for me. They did stay soft even 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great! I had a HUGE tub of sour cream from Costco and this was a great combination for a chocolate lover. I read a few reviews before I made it and agreed to double (triple) the chocolate. They turned out great and like cake! We used macadamia nuts because we have a tree growing near us here and hand picked them. That made them even better to us. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
these were really simple and easy! and very tasty!! i didnt have 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate, but i had 1 square of sweetened and 1 squar of unsweetened. i also added some chocolate chips! mmmmm moist! and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freakishej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Really tasty! I made with white whole wheat flour (it was all I had!) and they weren't unbearably heavy. Also, not tremendously sweet, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
To a doubled recipe,I added half again as much chocolate, 1 tsp, vanilla, 1 tsp salt and 2 cups mini M & Ms. They turned out great and tasted wonderful! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I liked these better after they cooled ... the flavor isn't very strong. Maybe some extra cocoa powder would kick them up a bit, but they aren't bad. I loved the soft, cakey texture. I'll make these again. I did add vanilla (1 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrnTheEmpireDown
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
nice soft, totally like little cakes. very tasty indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrnTheEmpireDown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States