Chocolate Sour Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I used dark chocolate for deeper flavor and peanuts instead of walnuts (walnuts used to be inexpensive, now $10/lb; even peanuts have more than doubled in cost to $5/lb) because I like peanuts in chocolate brownies. Overall, better flavor with changes suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I doubled the recipe. I followed the tip about using good cocoa powder and additional butter from another reviewer (Nimimerle) and put the batter into a zip-loc bag and piped it onto the cookie sheets as suggested by Reviewer HoneyTree. This made it very easy to handle. Be sure to cool for about 5 minutes before removing from cookie sheets and cool additionally on cooling racks. I found these to be easy, but I did use the Kitchen-Aid with the paddle for a long slow creaming of sugar and flour. Others advised to add some alt and vanilla extract, which I did also.Very good, not real sweet.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
With some revision I found these cookies to be quite tasty. As suggested previously, I added 1 tsp. vanilla and a pinch of salt. I also used cocoa instead of melted chocolate. The conversion is as follows: 1 square of chocolate = 3 Tbs. cocoa and 1 Tbs. butter. I used 9 Tbs. cocoa and 3 Tbs. butter so I did up the chocolate content, but they came out with a really nice chocolate flavor. To make them a bit healthier I used one cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour and raw sugar instead of the white. The consistency was just right and that may have been because I used the whole wheat flour. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Just made these without the walnuts but with Reese's peanut butter chips for my husband. I added the dash of salt and a tablespoon of vanilla & they turned out amazing! I made my cookies big, so I got a yield of 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
In my recipe, I incorporated the suggestions that others gave here, adding 1/2tsp salt, and about 11/4tsp vanilla, as well as about 1/2c more flour. My audience was after crunchy cookies, so I spread them thin and baked for 20min. They turned out pretty well, I'd say. I didn't taste much of the sour cream, as I was hoping to, though I will say, the sour cream was probably what gave the cookies a velvety texture. I only made half the batch, so this time I'll try it after having set in the fridge overnight. Also, perhaps I'll try a dollop of sour cream on top after baking (just for good measure). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novellac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These were okay. I did add a pinch of salt and 1 tsp. of vanilla as others recommended, but definitely not chocolatey enough for me. They did stay soft even 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great! I had a HUGE tub of sour cream from Costco and this was a great combination for a chocolate lover. I read a few reviews before I made it and agreed to double (triple) the chocolate. They turned out great and like cake! We used macadamia nuts because we have a tree growing near us here and hand picked them. That made them even better to us. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
these were really simple and easy! and very tasty!! i didnt have 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate, but i had 1 square of sweetened and 1 squar of unsweetened. i also added some chocolate chips! mmmmm moist! and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freakishej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Really tasty! I made with white whole wheat flour (it was all I had!) and they weren't unbearably heavy. Also, not tremendously sweet, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
To a doubled recipe,I added half again as much chocolate, 1 tsp, vanilla, 1 tsp salt and 2 cups mini M & Ms. They turned out great and tasted wonderful! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States