Chocolate Snaps Sugar Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These were just okay. I think I like the chocolate crackle cookie better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I decided to make these cookies as printed....WITH the exception that I just beat in the chocolate/butter mixture with the beater after adding the eggs. No problem there. I did half with powdered sugar topping and half with regular sugar. I liked the regular ones better. I did use Hershey's Special Edition chocolate, and, honestly, I am not thriled with the flavor of it. BUT the cookies were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I just made tonight. I did omit the margarine and added cocoa powder to flour mixture. I also rolled a few in powdered sugar and the rest in white sugar. My family likes the cookies with white sugar vs. the powdered sugar ones. They remind me of a chocolate snickerdoodle. We all enjoyed them and I will make these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
these are REALLY good. The only thing I did different is I did not bother chilling or roll in sugar. I immedately dropped by large spoon (I always make big cookies) on a cookie sheet and baked. Flavor and texture was PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Excellent! I followed other reviewers and omitted the margarine/cocoa step and added the cocoa directly to the dry ingredients. I chilled the dough 2 hours and had no trouble rolling these into balls. Using my small cookie scoop I got 47 cookies, and I rolled some in powdered sugar and some in granulated. Unlike some of the other reviewers - we prefer the look and taste of those rolled in granulated sugar. Mine were perfect at 8 minutes, slightly crisp on the outside and chewy (almost brownie-like) inside. A new favorite for us! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Yum. I had to use olive oil instead of margarine. I also used goat butter. Very beautiful too because they sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eatslotsacookies
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe is perfect.. there is no need to change it! The only thing you have to worry about is self-control after they are done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatslotsacookies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These are SO GOOD! My husband, who isn't a big sweets fan, ate 3 for dessert last night. He even took 1 with him to work today, saying: "I love your cookies!" They turned out crispy on the edges and very chewy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
We love them. Even my husband (a real food critic), said they are GREAT! He ate 4 as soon as I finished baking. I didn't have butter and used margarine instead and it worked out great. I've read the other reviews are saw the comments about the cocoa and margarine, as soon as I melted my butter, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the cocoa, yes it lumps, but I used a hand mixer and thought it worked well. If I changed anything, I would melt my butter in the microwave and then stir into the cocoa. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe is soooo good! I made the cookies last night and followed the advice of some of the other contributors. I left out the step with the extra margarine and mixed in the cocoa powder with the rest of the dry ingredients. After everything was mixed together, I let the dough chill in the fridge for an hour, then rolled the dough into balls and sprinkled them with powdered sugar before baking. Baked them for 8 minutes and they turned out perfect!! If I could rename these cookies, I would call them brownie cookies -- that's what they tasted like right out of the oven! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greensparkle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States