Chocolate Snaps Sugar Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made it as a main recipe for chocolate chip cookies as with the listed recipe. Found it a little bland, so I will add salt to the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My family loves these. My favorite chocolate cookie. I don't do the step where you put the 3 TBSP margarine in the pot and melt it with the cocoa. Not necessary. I just leave the 3 TBSP out all together and mix everything up like a normal cookie recipe, sugar and butter first, then the eggs, dry ingredients etc. The step of letting it sit in the fridge is also unecessary-this might be because I use butter flavored shortening (Crisco) instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Delicious cookies!! I made them exactly according to the recipe and had no problem. I don't know what happened to the lady who couldn't incorporate the melted butter/chocolate mixture, but mine did just fine. I'll be making these cookies again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
these really werent that great. they didnt have a distinct chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These were just o.k. We should have read the reviews before making. I will not melt the cocoa and margarine together if I ever make these again. It ended up in a huge clump. Trying to incorporate this into the cookies was not a fun experience. It left little flecks of dark in our cookies. If you make these cookies, I would omit the margarine, and mix the cocoa powder in with your dry ingredients as suggested by other reviewers. They cookies came out soft and chewy, just not chocolately enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious! Soft and chewy. Great cookie. I added the cocoa to the dry ingredients, as others suggested. I also made it a rounded 1/2 cup to make them a bit chocolate-ier. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I found this recipe a few years ago and have been making it regularly ever since (in double and triple batches) Even giving them as gifts at Christmas. As with lots of other posters I omitted the melting butter step, and just sifted in the cocoa. I also use half butter, half butter flavored shortening. I LOVE these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Update: I changed my rating from 5 stars to 4 because I tried the Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie 1 recipe from this website and thought it was much better. Cookies tasted great even a few days later unlike this recipe. Previous Rating: This recipe was good. They're soft, chewy, and just the right amount of chocolate. I also took the advice of the others and omitted the 3 Tbs of margarine. I added the cocoa powder with the flour mixture. They came out great! Best if eaten the first day. Not as good as each day passes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
YUM-YUM. I took others suggestions and combined the cocoa with the dry ingredients & eliminated the 3 TBSP butter. I don't believe it affected the taste or texture. Baked 8-9 mins. They taste like a brownie cookie. Slight crunch on the outside and soft on the inside. Really yummy warm! Because of the ease of these, they will be great for my holiday cookie platters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States