Chocolate Snaps Sugar Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Just made these cookies again.. I know, I'm a chocoholic....You too?? I sifted the cocoa into the mixture, dry instead of using the extra 3 TBS of butter.. a good thing! Much better cookie than the last too....Abit extra height and more flavor...MAGIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMOMMASGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
After searching high and low for a "good" chocolate sugar cookie recipe, I finally found this one. By far, the best taste and the best baking performance. These cookies can be made to be big or small, flat or puffy. Just like a regular sugar cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Wonderful! Just like Sugar Cookies, except - of course - chocolate! A bit less sweet as not much extra sugar is added and cocoa is bitter. This is VERY forgiving - I added the flour mixture before adding the cocoa butter or the vanilla, and went AH! Stirred in the cocoa and it was fine after a bit. Then I couldn't let it sit 2 hours because it was 10 at night, so I just left it in the cold storage till morning before baking - and they were great! A nice morning treat. So, 4 stars for the cookies, 5 stars for simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
the boy sure said "mmm!" a lot. these cookies chill up firm and dandy in one hour (even here in arizona!). the recipe made 59 cookies, by my count (and i think i have a quite generous idea of what "1 inch" is!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
A definite Hit! Everyone who loves chocolate will love this cookies! and Definitley listen to the advice of others and don't do the margarine and cocoa mix step, just add the cocoa in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Absolutely the best cookie I've ever eaten, and an all-time favorite with my family! Has the added benefit of being easy to make. I followed the advice of previous posters and sifted the cocoa powder with the other dry ingrediants, thus eliminating the messy mix-with-margarine step. Also, I find that using butter gives a fudgier texture and--to me at least--better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
WOW, these cookies are YUMMY! I added Nestle chocolate and peanut butter morsals to it, and it made them even better. They are now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
These cookies are irresistible! Perfect chocolate taste and they melt in your mouth. Yum!! I will definitely try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
These cookies are exceptionally good--crispy on the outside and fudgy on the inside. Also, not too rich or sweet. I had to make myself stop eating these. I made them exactly as written(I like to do this the first time I try a recipe so that I can rate it fairly), but next time I'll try the suggestions of other reviewers to leave out the margarine/cocoa step and roll the cookies in powdered sugar instead of granulated. Try this recipe, it's really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
the best chocolate cookie i have ever had. stayed soft after baking they look a little under done but wait till they cool they are wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States